Editorial selection · not an official ranking
Best Data Science Schools in the USA
Universities whose own data science degrees — not the institution's general reputation — meet our published criteria. A school is selected when it offers at least three verified data science degrees across two or more degree levels and at least two of them meet every criterion of our master's, online master's or bachelor's selections. Listed alphabetically; this is an editorial assessment, not an official ranking.
Methodology v1.0 · criteria and evidence rules · reviewed October 11, 2026 · 11 schools selected of 60 in the directory
About this selection
- Eligible degrees
- Schools with at least three verified, eligible data science degrees (dedicated or joint) across two or more degree levels. Related degrees with only a data science concentration do not count toward a school's inclusion.
- Programs considered
- All 60 schools in our directory, evaluated only on their verified data science degrees. Institutional reputation and other departments are not considered.
- Selection criteria
- At least three verified data science degrees across two or more levels, at least two of which are selected in our program lists.
- Order
- Alphabetical by school. Not numbered: we do not have comparable outcome data that would justify ordering.
- Sponsorship
- Paid placements never affect inclusion, order or assessment, and are never shown inside this list. Sponsorship disclosure
- Sources
- Official pages of each university, linked fact by fact on each program page. Institutional accreditation from the U.S. Department of Education (DAPIP).

American University
Washington, DC
American University: 5 verified data science degrees across 2 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- BS Data Science — Bachelor's — BS Data Science.
- BS in Data Sciences for Justice, Law, & Criminology — Bachelor's — BS in Data Sciences for Justice, Law, & Criminology.
- BS in Data Sciences for Political Science — Bachelor's — BS in Data Sciences for Political Science.
- Master of Science in Data Science Online — Master's — Master of Science in Data Science Online (selected in a program list).
- MS Data Science — Master's — MS Data Science (selected in a program list).
Strengths in the official information
- Fully online per the university's own wording.
- Estimated total tuition $28,000 (published total; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
Limitations to check
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

Boston University
Boston, MA
Boston University: 4 verified data science degrees across 3 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- BS in Data Science — Bachelor's — BS in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- MS in Data Science (Residential) — Master's — MS in Data Science (Residential) (selected in a program list).
- Online Master of Science in Data Science (Online MSDS) — Master's — Online Master of Science in Data Science (Online MSDS).
- PhD in Computing & Data Sciences — PhD — PhD in Computing & Data Sciences.
Strengths in the official information
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Estimated total tuition $74,072 (published total; fees excluded).
- The GRE is optional (stated).
- A thesis option or requirement is documented.
Limitations to check
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

Carnegie Mellon University
Pittsburgh, PA
Carnegie Mellon University: 3 verified data science degrees across 2 levels; 3 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- B.S. in Statistics and Data Science — Bachelor's — B.S. in Statistics and Data Science (selected in a program list).
- Master of Computational Data Science (MCDS) — Master's — Master of Computational Data Science (MCDS) (selected in a program list).
- Master of Science in Applied Data Science (MADS) — Master's — Master of Science in Applied Data Science (MADS) (selected in a program list).
Strengths in the official information
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Offers 2 named specializations or tracks.
- Offers 3 named specializations or tracks.
- The GRE is optional (stated).
Limitations to check
- Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

Illinois Institute of Technology
Chicago, IL
Illinois Institute of Technology: 5 verified data science degrees across 2 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor of Science in Data Science — Bachelor's — Bachelor of Science in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- Master of Applied Science in Data Science — Master's — Master of Applied Science in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- Master of Data Science (Coursera) — Master's — Master of Data Science (Coursera).
- Master of Science in Biomedical Data Science and Modeling — Master's — Master of Science in Biomedical Data Science and Modeling.
- Master of Science in Data Science in Engineering — Master's — Master of Science in Data Science in Engineering.
Strengths in the official information
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Estimated total tuition $63,525 (33 credits × $1,925 per credit; fees excluded).
- Both full-time and part-time study are offered.
Limitations to check
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

Maryville University of Saint Louis
Saint Louis, MO
Maryville University of Saint Louis: 3 verified data science degrees across 2 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor's in Data Science — Bachelor's — Bachelor's in Data Science.
- Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science — Bachelor's — Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- Online Master’s in Data Science — Master's — Online Master’s in Data Science (selected in a program list).
Strengths in the official information
- Fully online per the university's own wording.
- Estimated total tuition $69,000 (120 credits × $575 per credit; fees excluded).
- Fully online with no required campus visits stated by the university.
- Estimated total tuition $31,500 (36 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded).
Limitations to check
- Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

New Jersey Institute of Technology
Newark, NJ
New Jersey Institute of Technology: 6 verified data science degrees across 3 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- B.S. in Data Science — Bachelor's — B.S. in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- M.S. in Data Science (Jersey City) — Master's — M.S. in Data Science (Jersey City).
- M.S. in Data Science (Newark) — Master's — M.S. in Data Science (Newark) (selected in a program list).
- Online M.S. in Data Science — Master's — Online M.S. in Data Science.
- Ph.D. in Business Data Science — PhD — Ph.D. in Business Data Science.
- Ph.D. in Data Science — PhD — Ph.D. in Data Science.
Strengths in the official information
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Offers 2 named specializations or tracks.
- Estimated total tuition $62,040 (30 credits × $2,068 per credit; fees excluded).
- A thesis option or requirement is documented.
Limitations to check
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

Old Dominion University
Norfolk, VA
Old Dominion University: 3 verified data science degrees across 2 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Data Science (B.S.) — Bachelor's — Data Science (B.S.) (selected in a program list).
- Data Science & Analytics (M.S.) — Master's — Data Science & Analytics (M.S.) (selected in a program list).
- Data Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal) — Master's — Data Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal).
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $54,360 (120 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded).
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Offers 4 named specializations or tracks.
- Estimated total tuition $40,830 (30 credits × $1,361 per credit; fees excluded).
Limitations to check
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
- The GRE is required.

Syracuse University
Syracuse, NY
Syracuse University: 3 verified data science degrees across 2 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Applied Data Science Bachelor's Degree — Bachelor's — Applied Data Science Bachelor's Degree.
- Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus) — Master's — Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus) (selected in a program list).
- Online MS in Applied Data Science — Master's — Online MS in Applied Data Science (selected in a program list).
Strengths in the official information
- Estimated total tuition $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is optional (stated).
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Fully online per the university's own wording.
Limitations to check
- Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ
University of Arizona: 6 verified data science degrees across 3 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor of Arts in Statistics & Data Science — Bachelor's — Bachelor of Arts in Statistics & Data Science.
- Bachelor of Science in Data Science — Bachelor's — Bachelor of Science in Data Science.
- Data Science Master of Science (Arizona Online) — Master's — Data Science Master of Science (Arizona Online) (selected in a program list).
- M.S. in Statistics & Data Science — Master's — M.S. in Statistics & Data Science.
- Master of Science in Data Science (Main Campus) — Master's — Master of Science in Data Science (Main Campus) (selected in a program list).
- Ph.D. in Statistics & Data Science — PhD — Ph.D. in Statistics & Data Science.
Strengths in the official information
- Fully online per the university's own wording.
- Estimated total tuition $19,500 (30 credits × $650 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
Limitations to check
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.

University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA
University of Virginia: 4 verified data science degrees across 3 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- B.S. in Data Science — Bachelor's — B.S. in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- Doctor of Philosophy in Data Science — PhD — Doctor of Philosophy in Data Science.
- M.S. in Data Science, Online — Master's — M.S. in Data Science, Online.
- M.S. in Data Science, Residential — Master's — M.S. in Data Science, Residential (selected in a program list).
Strengths in the official information
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Estimated total tuition $55,368 (published total; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- Published length of 11 months or less.
Limitations to check
- Tuition for this program is not published on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
- Online, but requires in-person attendance (orientation).

Worcester Polytechnic Institute
Worcester, MA
Worcester Polytechnic Institute: 4 verified data science degrees across 3 levels; 2 selected in our program lists.
Degrees supporting this selection
- Bachelor's Degree in Data Science — Bachelor's — Bachelor's Degree in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- Master's in Data Science — Master's — Master's in Data Science (selected in a program list).
- Master's in Data Science Online — Master's — Master's in Data Science Online.
- PhD in Data Science — PhD — PhD in Data Science.
Strengths in the official information
- A capstone or applied project is part of the published curriculum.
- Estimated total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded).
- The GRE is not required (stated).
- A thesis option or requirement is documented.
Limitations to check
- Tuition is published, but not on a basis that allows a total-cost estimate (fees excluded).
- No dated application deadline is published for the current cycle on the pages we checked.
- Full-time / part-time options are not stated.
Schools can send official sources through the correction form. Evidence is re-checked; inclusion cannot be bought.