Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Old Dominion University campus — Old Dominion University campus
Old Dominion University campus. Campus photograph of Old Dominion University. · Photo: Faithlessthewonderboy · CC BY-SA 4.0 · source
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Norfolk, VAPublic SACSCOCOfficial website

Old Dominion University's School of Data Science offers a B.S. in Data Science and a 30-credit M.S. in Data Science and Analytics with five concentrations, available on campus in Norfolk, Virginia and online through ODUGlobal. The Department of Mathematics and Statistics offers a Mathematics of Data Science concentration in its M.S. and Ph.D. in Computational and Applied Mathematics.

Data science programs at Old Dominion University

5 eligible programs verified (1 bachelor's, 3 master's, 1 phd); formats: on campus, fully online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Bachelor's Degrees in Data Science

Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $453 per credit · Online students — Technology Delivered Courses Outside Virginia and/or the United States · year not statedEst. total tuition $54,360 (120 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Master's Degrees in Data Science

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Data Science and Analytics

Data Science & Analytics (M.S.)

Master'sMSJoint degree
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $510 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Virginia Resident · year not statedEst. total tuition $40,830 (30 credits × $1,361 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Data Science and Analytics

Data Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal)

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online
Location: Norfolk, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia Residents (includes $510 standard tuition + $162 mandatory auxiliary tuition) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Computational and Applied Mathematics — Mathematics of Data Science

Computational and Applied Mathematics with a Concentration in Mathematics of Data Science (MS)

Master'sMSDS concentration
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

PhD Programs in Data Science

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Doctor of Philosophy in Computational and Applied Mathematics — Mathematics of Data Science

Computational and Applied Mathematics with a Concentration in Mathematics of Data Science (PhD)

PhDDS concentrationFunding not verified
Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 78 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since January 1, 1951 · next review 06/01/2029

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

The university states: “Old Dominion University is accredited by the Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC).” Source: odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Published enrollment restrictions

State authorization rules decide whether the university can enroll you in an online program from your state. The university's location never decides it.

State authorization

  • ODU is a participating institution of NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states.
    Source: odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, minors, analytics or AI degrees without data science in the title…).
  • Mathematics with a Major in Big Data Analytics (BS)Analytics major without data science in the degree title.Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Master of Public Health, Applied Data Science concentrationOfficially named data science concentration, but the two-concentration cap was used for the Computational and Applied Mathematics M.S. and Ph.D.Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Applied Data Science Certificate; Artificial Intelligence (AI) in Data Science CertificateCertificates, not degrees.Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Data Science Minor; Humanities and Data Science MinorMinors, not degrees.Source: catalog.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Institution

Official name
Old Dominion University
Control
Public
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Main location
5115 Hampton Blvd, Norfolk, VA 23529
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Degrees awarded in Data Science (IPEDS CIP 30.70, first major)
8 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 11, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. catalog.odu.edu/azindex/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), CIP 30.70 Data Science — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. online.odu.edu/programs/data-science-analytics-masters — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  6. odu.edu/academics/programs/masters/data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. odu.edu/assessment/state-regulatory-authorizations-licensure-disclosures — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile