Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Boston University campus — Boston University's College of Communication
Boston University's College of Communication. Campus photograph of Boston University. · Photo: Fletcher6 · CC BY-SA 3.0 · source
Boston University logo

Boston University

Boston, MAPrivate nonprofit NECHEOfficial website

Boston University's Faculty of Computing & Data Sciences (CDS) offers a BS in Data Science, a residential MS in Data Science, an online MS in Data Science, and a PhD in Computing & Data Sciences.

Data science programs at Boston University

4 eligible programs verified (1 bachelor's, 2 master's, 1 phd); formats: on campus, fully online. Each program is listed separately — tuition, admissions and format belong to the program, not to the whole university.

Bachelor's Degrees in Data Science

Location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Master's Degrees in Data Science

Boston University logo

Boston University

Master of Science in Data Science

MS in Data Science (Residential)

Master'sMS
Location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: As little as 9 months full-time; 16 months with the internship or thesis option (full-time) · 32 credits
Tuition: $2,282 per credit · All students — Part-time (2-11 credits) per-credit rate · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Boston University logo

Boston University

Master of Science in Data Science

Online Master of Science in Data Science (Online MSDS)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Boston, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Part-time
Duration: 16 continuous months, including a required summer term (16-24 months stated on the program page) · 30 credits
Tuition: $25,000 entire program · Online students — Total Cost of OMDS Program (10 modules at $2,500 each) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

PhD Programs in Data Science

Boston University logo

Boston University

PhD in Computing and Data Sciences

PhD in Computing & Data Sciences

PhDJoint degreeFully funded (conditions apply)
Location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 64 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)

    Institutional accreditation — accredited · since December 1, 1929 · next review 06/30/2030

    Recognized by: U.S. Department of Education

    Source: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

The university states: “Accredited by the New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE)” Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Institutional accreditation (recorded in the U.S. Department of Education's DAPIP database) covers the whole institution. It is not a ranking and does not describe any one program.

Departments and schools

Academic units that administer the listed programs.

Offerings we reviewed but do not list

This directory lists data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees. These offerings were checked against official pages and fall outside that scope (certificates, minors, analytics or AI degrees without data science in the title…).
  • MS in Enterprise AI (online)AI degree without data science in the title.Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Minor in Data ScienceMinor, not a degree.Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • MS in Bioinformatics / PhD in BioinformaticsBioinformatics degrees without data science in the title.Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Institution

Official name
Boston University
Control
Private nonprofit
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Main location
One Silber Way, Boston, MA 02215
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Degrees awarded in Data Science (IPEDS CIP 30.70, first major)
5 master's (2023-24)
Source: nces.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Sources

Last verified October 11, 2026. Program facts and their sources are on each program page.
  1. IPEDS 2024–25 Institutional Characteristics (HD2024), via College Navigator — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. IPEDS 2023-24 Completions (C2024_A), CIP 30.70 Data Science — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. bu.edu/academics/cds/programs/bs-in-data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/ms-data-science/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/online-msds/application/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/phd-degree/funding/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026

Request a correction · Claim this profile