Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
New Jersey Institute of Technology logo

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Online M.S. in Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

The 30-credit M.S. in Data Science delivered online for working professionals; most part-time students finish in about two years. Students taking all courses online in the fully online program pay a single per-credit rate regardless of residency.

Official program name
Online M.S. in Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Location
Newark, NJWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credits
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Average completion time: 2 years for part-time students; full-time students may finish sooner (part-time (9 or fewer credits per semester))
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The page notes an on-campus format is also available at the Newark location.

Why this program is listed

Online delivery of the M.S. in Data Science with its own page and a separate fully online per-credit rate.

Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredA STEM bachelor's degree is required; a computer science degree is not.
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statistics prerequisites
RecommendedSome coding experience and an undergraduate statistics course are expected.
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Fully Online Graduate Programs (in-state and out-of-state, no flat rate)From the university's online tuition table$1,284per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$38,520 = 30 credits × $1,284 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $38,520 (30 credits × $1,284 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Fully Online Graduate Programs (in-state and out-of-state, no flat rate), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside New Jersey.

International applicants

  • The online program is available to both U.S. residents and international students.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • The online rate requires taking all courses online in the fully online program.
    Source: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.njit.edu/graduate/admissions-financial-support/tuition-fees/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. ds.njit.edu/ms-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. njit.edu/academics/degree/online-ms-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. njit.edu/admissions/grad-dates-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New Jersey first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with New Jersey Institute of Technology. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.