Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
American University logo

American University · College of Arts & Sciences

Master of Science in Data Science Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

An online 30-credit, 10-course MS in Data Science with January and August starts, rolling admissions and flat tuition of $28,000 for the program (exclusive of fees). It offers tracks in Artificial Intelligence, Business Analytics and Microeconomic Analysis and includes six months of practicum capstone experience.

Official program name
Master of Science in Data Science Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Washington, DCWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Artificial Intelligence · Business Analytics · Microeconomic Analysis
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours (plus capstone), 10 classes
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
can be completed in 18 months
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Course format includes live seminar-style discussions online; the share of synchronous sessions is not stated.

Why this program is listed

Online version of the MS in Data Science with separate flat tuition and its own tracks.

Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Data Science Practicum with real-world projects from AU partners or external organizations.
    Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an accredited college or university.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Bachelor's degree with a cumulative GPA of 3.00 on a 4.00 scale.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statistics prerequisites
RequiredSTAT-202, STAT-203 or STAT-204 or equivalent (may be waived); mathematical boot camp before starting.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Optional1 letters — Letter of recommendation (optional).
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredFor international applicants.
Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring 2027 / Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Flat rate for the program, exclusive of feesFrom the university's online tuition table$28,000entire program · 2026-2027Source: www-cdn.american.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $28,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Online students — Flat rate for the program, exclusive of fees, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Washington, DC.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. www-cdn.american.edu/cas/admissions/finance.cfm — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. www-cdn.american.edu/programs/shared/data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. www-cdn.american.edu/programs/shared/data-science/online/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Washington, DC first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with American University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.