Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University · School of Information Studies (iSchool)

Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A 31-credit on-campus MS in Applied Data Science with a 12-credit core, a 6-credit concentration, 12 elective credits and a one-credit portfolio exit requirement. GRE scores are optional.

Official program name
Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Applied Data Science
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.Focus: Applied data science
School
Source: onlinegrad.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Syracuse, NY
Specializations
Artificial Intelligence; Big Data; Data and Business Analytics; Data Pipelines and Platforms; Language Analytics; Project Management; Visual Analytics
Source: onlinegrad.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
31 credits
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
as little as one year (through summer and Winterlude coursework, depending on course availability)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered online with its own program page, cohort calendar and deadlines (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an MS in Applied Data Science.

Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 12-credit required core in databases, data analysis and machine learning; 6-credit concentration; 12 elective credits.
    Source: coursecatalog.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

Internship

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • Artificial Intelligence; Big Data; Data and Business Analytics; Data Pipelines and Platforms; Language Analytics; Project Management; Visual Analytics
    Source: onlinegrad.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or equivalent
Source: coursecatalog.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of about 500 words
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume or CV
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 non-refundable application fee
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredTranscripts from all postsecondary institutions
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalGMAT or LSAT scores may also be submitted.
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredInternational applicants submit TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo; exemptions for US four-year degree holders and native English speakers.
Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    Priority Date 1: January 1; Priority Date 2: February 1; Deadline: June 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    Priority Date 1: October 1; Priority Date 2: November 15; Deadline: December 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$2,086per creditEstimated tuition$64,666 = 31 credits × $2,086 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: ischool.syracuse.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. coursecatalog.syracuse.edu/graduate/information-studies/applied-data-science-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. ischool.syracuse.edu/academics/applied-data-science-masters-degree/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. ischool.syracuse.edu/admissions-aid/how-to-apply/apply-to-graduate-programs/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. ischool.syracuse.edu/admissions-aid/how-to-apply/masters-applied-data-science-application-checklist/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. onlinegrad.syracuse.edu/information-science/applied-data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: Potsdam, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: three semesters (full-time, residential) (full-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — Columbia Engineering M.S. programs, per credit (2026–2027 estimated) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $84,660 (30 credits × $2,822 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Syracuse University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.