Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia · School of Data Science

B.S. in Data Science

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBSData science degreeFirst-year entry

Overview

A 120-credit B.S. in Data Science with a three-year major sequence. UVA students apply to the major in the spring of their first year after completing or enrolling in two prerequisite courses; the major does not currently admit external transfer students.

Official program name
B.S. in Data Science
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Data Science
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Charlottesville, VA
Specializations
Core concentrations: Analytics, Systems, Design, Value
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
120 credit hours
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. High school students apply for first-year admission to UVA, then apply to the major as internal transfer students in the spring of their first year.Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed

The undergraduate major is a B.S. in Data Science offered by the School of Data Science.

Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Project

Other

  • The major does not admit transfer students and cannot be declared in the second, third or fourth year.
    Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Accelerated options

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prerequisite courses
RequiredDS 1001 Foundations of Data Science and DS 1002 Programming for Data Science completed or in progress at the time of application.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/bsds — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/bsds/academics — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/bsds/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/bsds/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/phd — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Norfolk, VA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $453 per credit · Online students — Technology Delivered Courses Outside Virginia and/or the United States · year not statedEst. total tuition $54,360 (120 credits × $453 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Bachelor of Science in Applied Data Science

Applied Data Science Bachelor's Degree

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Syracuse, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: 4 years · 120 credits
Tuition: $69,180 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate tuition (cost of attendance estimate) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Virginia. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.