Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees

Online Data Science Degrees

Data science degrees that US universities offer online — bachelor's, master's and doctoral. “Online” is not one format: some programs are fully online, others are online with required in-person attendance such as an orientation, immersion or residency. Every listing below shows which, as the university states it. Ordinary hybrid programs with substantial on-campus coursework are not listed here; find them on the program search.

Listed alphabetically by school. This directory is not a ranking. What we list

45

verified online programs

40

with a verified Fully online badge

5

online with required attendance

40

universities

Online study formats, defined

Fully online

All coursework is online and the university's own wording supports that no in-person attendance is required. Only these programs carry the verified badge.

Online with required attendance

Coursework is online, but something must be attended in person — an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation. Each requirement is listed on the program page.

Online, attendance not published

The university presents the program as online but does not say whether any in-person element exists. These programs never get the Fully online badge — ask the university before you rely on it.

American University logo

American University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Washington, DCUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: can be completed in 18 months · 30 credits
Tuition: $28,000 entire program · Online students — Flat rate for the program, exclusive of fees · 2026-2027
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully onlineFirst-year entry
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Four years when enrolled full-time (full-time) · 120 credits
Tuition: $580 per credit · Online students — ASU Online undergraduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,600 (120 credits × $580 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Arts in Social Data Science

Online Master of Arts in Social Data Science

Master'sMA Fully online
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Science in Applied Statistics and Data Science

Online Master of Science in Applied Statistics and Data Science

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Science in Biological Data Science

Online Master of Science in Biological Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $19,965 (33 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Bellevue University logo

Bellevue University

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor's Degree in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully online
Location: Bellevue, NEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 127 credits
Tuition: $459 per credit · Online students — Undergraduate, Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,293 (127 credits × $459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Bellevue University logo

Bellevue University

Master of Science in Data Science

Online Master's Degree in Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Bellevue, NEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $680 per credit · All students — Graduate Online & On Campus · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $20,400 (30 credits × $680 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Boston University logo

Boston University

Master of Science in Data Science

Online Master of Science in Data Science (Online MSDS)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Boston, MAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Part-time
Duration: 16 continuous months, including a required summer term (16-24 months stated on the program page) · 30 credits
Tuition: $25,000 entire program · Online students — Total Cost of OMDS Program (10 modules at $2,500 each) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Brown University logo

Brown University

Master of Science in Data Science: Policy, Governance & Society

Online Master's in Data Science: Policy, Governance & Society

Master'sScM Fully online
Location: Providence, RIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as 16 months (four consecutive 14-week semesters, including summer) (two courses per semester) · 8 credits
Tuition: $7,500 per course · Online students — Online Master's of Data Science, Policy, Governance, & Society · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Clarkson University logo

Clarkson University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Master of Science in Applied Data Science (Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Potsdam, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: about two years (part-time) (part-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Drexel University logo

Drexel University

Master of Science in Data Science

Online Master’s Degree in Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Philadelphia, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: 2 years average duration (average) · 45 credits
Tuition: $1,400 per credit · Online students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $63,000 (45 credits × $1,400 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Winter 2027
View Program

Eastern University

Master of Science in Data Science

MS in Data Science (Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Saint Davids, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: As little as 10 months; 30 credits in as few as 2.5 semesters (6 credits per 7-week session) (6 credits per 7-week session) · 30 credits
Tuition: $300 per credit · All students — Graduate Degrees and Certificates in Data Science or Data Analytics (MS & Certs) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View Program
Florida Atlantic University logo

Florida Atlantic University

Master of Science with Major in Data Science and Analytics

Master of Science with Major in Data Science and Analytics - Data Science and Engineering Concentration (online)

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online
Location: Boca Raton, FLUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $371.82 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Grad - Resident, total per credit hour (tuition and fees) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $33,751.80 (30 credits × $1,125.06 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Illinois Institute of Technology logo

Illinois Institute of Technology

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (Coursera)

Master'sMDS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science - Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Bloomington, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Full-time or part-time
Duration: up to five years (maximum time to complete, part-time or full-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 (January 11, 2027 start)
View Program
Lewis University logo

Lewis University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science, M.S.

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Romeoville, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Maryville University of Saint Louis logo

Maryville University of Saint Louis

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully online
Location: Saint Louis, MOUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $575 per credit · Online students — BS in Data Science (online) · 2025-2026Est. total tuition $69,000 (120 credits × $575 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Maryville University of Saint Louis logo

Maryville University of Saint Louis

Master of Science in Data Science

Online Master’s in Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Saint Louis, MOUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Duration: Most students complete the program in two years or less (most students) · 36 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · Online students — MS in Data Science (online) · 2025-2026Est. total tuition $31,500 (36 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
New Jersey Institute of Technology logo

New Jersey Institute of Technology

Master of Science in Data Science

Online M.S. in Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Newark, NJUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Average completion time: 2 years for part-time students; full-time students may finish sooner (part-time (9 or fewer credits per semester)) · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,284 per credit · Online students — Fully Online Graduate Programs (in-state and out-of-state, no flat rate) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,520 (30 credits × $1,284 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Online master's tuition on one comparable basis

Universities publish online tuition per credit, per term or for the whole program, and often separately for residents and nonresidents. To compare like with like, we estimate total tuition only where a program publishes both a per-credit rate and its required credits (or a whole-program figure), using the rate that applies to all students or, when rates differ, the nonresident rate. Fees are excluded. 34 of 41 online master's programs publish enough to be compared; the full method is on the affordable online master's page.

Online master's programs ordered by estimated total tuition (published rate × required credits, fees excluded).
School and programFormatPublished rate usedCreditsEstimated total tuition
Eastern UniversityMS in Data Science (Online)Fully online$9,900 entire programAll students · 2026-202730$9,900published total
The University of Texas at AustinOnline Master of Science in Data ScienceFully online$10,000 entire programAll students · year not stated30$10,000published total
University of PittsburghMaster of Data Science (MDS)Fully online$15,300 entire programAll students — Approximate total tuition, regardless of residency · year not stated30$15,300published total
University of Colorado BoulderMaster of Science in Data Science Online on the Coursera platform (MS-DS on Coursera)Fully online$15,750 entire programAll students · year not stated30$15,750published total
Arizona State UniversityOnline Master of Arts in Social Data ScienceFully online$605 per creditOnline students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-202730$18,150rate × credits
Arizona State UniversityOnline Master of Science in Applied Statistics and Data ScienceFully online$605 per creditOnline students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-202730$18,150rate × credits
University of ArizonaData Science Master of Science (Arizona Online)Fully online$650 per creditOnline students — Online campus tuition per unit · year not stated30$19,500rate × credits
Old Dominion UniversityData Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal)Fully online$662 per creditNonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state Students · year not stated30$19,860rate × credits
Arizona State UniversityOnline Master of Science in Biological Data ScienceFully online$605 per creditOnline students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-202733$19,965rate × credits
Bellevue UniversityOnline Master's Degree in Data ScienceFully online$680 per creditAll students — Graduate Online & On Campus · 2026-202730$20,400rate × credits

Admissions for online programs

  • Online master's programs usually admit applicants with a bachelor's degree and expect preparation in calculus, linear algebra, statistics and programming — the exact prerequisites are on each program page when the university publishes them.
  • GRE policies vary: “not required”, “optional” and “required” are shown as published. A program that does not mention the GRE is shown as not verified, not as “no GRE”.
  • Some online programs admit through performance in initial courses rather than a traditional application; the program page quotes that wording.
  • Start dates are often more frequent online (several intakes a year) — check the intake listed with each deadline.

Master's admission requirements guide

Where you live still matters

An online program listed under a state is offered by a university based in that state. That does not limit enrollment to residents, and it does not guarantee that every resident can enroll: universities must be authorized to enroll online students in each state, and some publish states they cannot accept. Where a university publishes these restrictions, the program page shows them; use the enrollment-restrictions filter to find them.

International students: online study generally does not lead to a US student visa. Programs that publish whether international students may enroll show it on their page.

Online data science degrees: common questions

Is an online data science degree the same degree as the on-campus one?
Often, but not always. Some universities award the same degree for both formats; others run a separate online program with its own title, curriculum, tuition and admissions. We list each format as its own program when the university publishes different facts, and show the awarded degree on every profile.
What does “fully online” mean on this site?
That the university's own wording supports no required in-person attendance for the program — not just that classes are online. If a program requires an orientation, immersion, residency or in-person exam, it is labelled “online with required attendance”. If the university does not say, the program is shown as online with attendance requirements not published.
Are online programs cheaper?
Not necessarily. Online rates range widely, and some universities charge online students the same as campus students. Compare estimated total tuition on the same basis (rate × credits, fees excluded), then add the fees each program lists.
Do online programs have live classes?
Some are asynchronous (recorded, self-paced within deadlines), some synchronous (scheduled live sessions), some mixed. We show the schedule only when the university states it; use the class-schedule filter.
Can I get a PhD in data science online?
Doctoral programs whose degree names data science are mostly campus-based. The online PhD page lists only programs the university itself presents as online, with their in-person requirements.

Related