Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Boston University logo

Boston University · Faculty of Computing & Data Sciences

BS in Data Science

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBSData science degree

Overview

A BS in Data Science in the Faculty of Computing & Data Sciences requiring at least 16 courses toward the major: foundations, a six-subject data science core, four electives in a methodology or in-the-field track, and a capstone or practicum project.

Official program name
BS in Data Science
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Data Science
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Boston, MA
Required credits
At least 64 units toward the major (total degree units not stated on the page)
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

How students enter this degree

Entry routes are not published on the pages we checked. Do not assume first-year, transfer or second-degree entry — ask the admissions office.

Why this program is listed

The awarded degree is a BS in Data Science.

Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Real-world capstone project curated through CDS Impact Labs and co-Labs; at least 4 units of a supervised project.
    Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

  • Data science core: programming, data mechanics, statistics, algorithms, machine learning, and ethical & social implications.
    Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Electives in a Methodology Track or an In-the-Field Track.
    Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Accelerated options

  • BS-to-MS in Data Science pathway listed among CDS programs.
    Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. bu.edu/academics/cds/programs/bs-in-data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/phd-degree/funding/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor's Degree in Data Science

Bachelor'sBSFirst-year entry
Location: Worcester, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 135 credits
Tuition: $63,936 per academic year · All students — Undergraduate Full-Time, annual tuition · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Boston University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.