Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona · College of Information Science

Data Science Master of Science (Arizona Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

The 30-unit M.S. in Data Science delivered fully online through Arizona Online at a per-unit rate, with core courses, 15 elective units, and a required internship or capstone; stackable graduate certificates can count toward the degree.

Official program name
Data Science Master of Science (Arizona Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Tucson, AZWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
Credits Required: 30
Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered in person on the Tucson main campus (see ms-data-science).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an M.S. in Data Science (College of Information Science), offered fully online through Arizona Online with separate tuition and deadlines.

Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

Curriculum

Other

  • Graduate Certificates in Foundations of Data Science and Natural Language Processing transfer directly into the degree.
    Source: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from the University of Arizona or an accredited college or university recognized by the University of Arizona
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredCoursework and/or professional experience with math and programming, including data structures, analysis of algorithms and linear algebra
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
Required750- to 1,000-word Statement of Purpose
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two recommenders
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume or CV
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredMay be submitted optionally.
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding consideration deadline

    March 1 (with funding consideration) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    June 1 (domestic and international without funding consideration) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Funding consideration deadline

    September 1 (with funding consideration) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    November 16 (without funding consideration; international) · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    April 19 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Online campus tuition per unit$650per creditEstimated tuition$19,500 = 30 credits × $650 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $19,500 (30 credits × $650 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Online campus tuition per unit, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Program fees for 7+ units
$53Mandatory
Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

  • International students may apply to the fully online option through Arizona Online.Source: infosci.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.arizona.edu/programs/DSCMS — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. infosci.arizona.edu/ms-data-science/admissions-cost — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. online.arizona.edu/about/eligibility-state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. online.arizona.edu/programs/graduate/online-master-science-data-science-ms — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Arts in Social Data Science

Online Master of Arts in Social Data Science

Master'sMA Fully online
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Science in Applied Statistics and Data Science

Online Master of Science in Applied Statistics and Data Science

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Master of Science in Biological Data Science

Online Master of Science in Biological Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $605 per credit · Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $19,965 (33 credits × $605 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.