Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute · Data Science Program

Master's in Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A 30-credit on-campus MS in Data Science with a 15-credit core across five areas and either a 3-credit Graduate Qualifying Project with an industry sponsor or a 9-credit thesis. GRE is not required.

Official program name
Master's in Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: wpi-grad.cleancatalog.net · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Worcester, MA
Required credits
minimum of 30 credits
Source: wpi-grad.cleancatalog.net · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered online with its own program page (separate record).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an MS in Data Science.

Source: wpi-grad.cleancatalog.net · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 15-credit core: Integrative Data Science, Mathematical Analytics, Data Access and Management, Data Analytics and Mining, Business Intelligence and Case Studies.
    Source: wpi-grad.cleancatalog.net · verified October 11, 2026

Project

Thesis

Accelerated options

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredAccredited bachelor's degree in computer science, mathematics, business, engineering or quantitative sciences
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredProgramming, data structures, algorithms, univariate and multivariate calculus, linear algebra and introductory statistics with B or better
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$70 — $70 application fee (waived for the online program)
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Funding consideration deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Rolling
  • Funding consideration deadline

    Rolling admission · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Graduate Tuition, per creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,775per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$53,250 = 30 credits × $1,775 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Graduate Tuition, per credit, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Student Organization Fee (9 or more credits)
$45 per semesterMandatory
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • WPI participates in the National Council State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA). Official pageSource: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

  • The department lists the data science programs as STEM designated.Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. wpi-grad.cleancatalog.net/data-science/bachelorsmasters-in-data-science — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  3. wpi-grad.cleancatalog.net/data-science/ms-in-data-science — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  4. wpi.edu/academics/departments/data-science/students/funding — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. wpi.edu/academics/online/support/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. wpi.edu/academics/study/data-science-bs — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. wpi.edu/academics/study/data-science-phd — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  8. wpi.edu/admissions/graduate/application-requirements?itemId=6421 — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  9. wpi.edu/offices/bursar/tuition — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Harvard University logo

Harvard University

Master of Science in Health Data Science

Master of Science - Health Data Science

Master'sSM
Location: Cambridge, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: 2 years; 4 semesters (full-time) · 80 credits
Tuition: $58,272 per academic year · All students — Master of Science 80-credit, 2 years full-time · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Harvard University logo

Harvard University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master's in Data Science

Master'sSM
Location: Cambridge, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: at least 3 semesters (one and a half academic years); some students extend to a fourth semester · 48 credits
Tuition: $33,752 per term · All students — Second year (one term only) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program
Boston University logo

Boston University

Master of Science in Data Science

MS in Data Science (Residential)

Master'sMS
Location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: As little as 9 months full-time; 16 months with the internship or thesis option (full-time) · 32 credits
Tuition: $2,282 per credit · All students — Part-time (2-11 credits) per-credit rate · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.