Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University · School of Data Science

Data Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science and Analytics

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online

Overview

The 30-credit M.S. in Data Science and Analytics delivered online through ODUGlobal in accelerated 8-week courses with no scheduled meeting times; students take five core courses, four concentration courses and a capstone.

Official program name
Data Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science and Analytics
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Joint degree naming data scienceOne degree whose official title names data science together with another field, such as Statistics and Data Science.
School
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Norfolk, VAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The instructor may schedule specific deadlines for assignments or specific times to take exams.

Why this program is listed

Online delivery of the Master of Science in Data Science and Analytics with its own page, rates and admission wording.

Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Academic calendar

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prerequisite courses
RequiredUndergraduate coursework or experience in computer science, mathematics, statistics, IT, engineering or a related field.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Required50th percentile or better on quantitative reasoning; waiver available for an advanced degree, related work experience and/or related military training.
Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadlineDomestic applicants

    June 1 (Fall), November 1 (Spring), March 1 (Summer); may vary by program · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • International applicantsInternational applicants

    April 15 (Fall), October 1 (Spring), February 1 (Summer) · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia Residents (includes $510 standard tuition + $162 mandatory auxiliary tuition)$672per creditIncludes feesEstimated tuition$20,160 = 30 credits × $672 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state Students$662per creditEstimated tuition$19,860 = 30 credits × $662 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Out-of-state Students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • ODU participates in NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states. Official pageSource: odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • ODU is a participating institution of NC-SARA, which allows online delivery of distance education to other member states. Official pageSource: odu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. online.odu.edu/admissions/application-dates-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. online.odu.edu/programs/data-science-analytics-masters — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. odu.edu/academics/programs/masters/data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. odu.edu/assessment/state-regulatory-authorizations-licensure-disclosures — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia

Master of Science in Data Science

M.S. in Data Science, Online

Master'sMS
Location: Charlottesville, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.Required in person: orientation · Part-time
Duration: five semesters (20 months) · 33 credits
Tuition: $1,511 per credit · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Old Dominion University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.