
New Jersey Institute of Technology · Department of Data Science, Ying Wu College of Computing
M.S. in Data Science (Newark)
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science
Overview
A 30-credit on-campus master's at the Newark campus with a Computational Track (Data Science department) and a Statistics Track (Mathematical Sciences), completed through coursework only, a project, or a thesis.
- Official program name
- M.S. in Data Science (Newark)
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science in Data ScienceSource: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Program classification
- Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
- School
- Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- Newark, NJ
- Specializations
- Computational Track · Statistics TrackSource: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Required credits
- 30 creditsSource: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Also offered at the Jersey City location and fully online (separate records). U.S. residents can combine face-to-face and online courses.
Why this program is listed
The 2026-2027 catalog lists the Master of Science in Data Science (MSDS) with Computational and Statistics tracks.
Source: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not published
Curriculum
Thesis
- Options: 30 credits of courses; 27 credits plus a 3-credit MS project; or 24 credits plus project and thesis.Source: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Other
- F-1 students at Newark must take the majority of coursework in person in Newark.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Specializations, concentrations and tracks
- Computational TrackSource: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Statistics TrackSource: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
- Prior degree
- RequiredUndergraduate degree in computing, including object-oriented languages and at least four listed computing subjects.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required1 letters — At least one letter of recommendation.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredTranscripts from a prior degree in computing.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Other requirement
- OptionalApplicants not eligible for direct admission can earn a graduate certificate; a 3.0 certificate GPA guarantees admission to the MS.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- RequiredRequired of international applicants; waiver may be requested by holders of a degree from an accredited US institution.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- TOEFL iBT
- RequiredInternational applicants: TOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Rolling
Application deadlineDomestic applicants
Rolling admission · for Fall
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026 - Rolling
International applicantsInternational applicants
Rolling admission · for Fall
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| Resident (in-state) — 2026-2027 Graduate Tuition, In-State, 1 creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level | $1,442 | per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$43,260 = 30 credits × $1,442 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
| Nonresident (out-of-state) — 2026-2027 Graduate Tuition, Out-of-State, 1 creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level | $2,068 | per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$62,040 = 30 credits × $2,068 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
Estimated total tuition: $62,040 (30 credits × $2,068 per credit)
Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — 2026-2027 Graduate Tuition, Out-of-State, 1 credit, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate
Other published fees
- Graduate fees per credit (per-semester table)
- $295 per creditMandatorySource: catalog.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Funding
Funding classification: Partial funding
Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated.
- Funding guarantee
- Guaranteed financial support for MS students is limited and typically reserved for doctoral candidates.Source: ds.njit.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.
Accreditation and enrollment restrictions
Institutional accreditation
- Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.
Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)
None recorded for this program.
International applicants
Not verified for this program.
Sources and verification
- catalog.njit.edu/azindex/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
- catalog.njit.edu/graduate/admissions-financial-support/tuition-fees/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
- catalog.njit.edu/graduate/computing-sciences/data-science/data-science-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
- ds.njit.edu/ms-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- njit.edu/academics/degree/ms-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- njit.edu/admissions/grad-dates-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and format family, programs in New Jersey first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Master of Science in Biomedical Data Science
Biomedical Data Science, MS
Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with New Jersey Institute of Technology. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.