Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Virginia logo

University of Virginia · School of Data Science

M.S. in Data Science, Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A part-time, 33-credit online M.S. in Data Science taken over five semesters, with asynchronous coursework plus required weekly live evening sessions on Zoom, a team capstone and a mandatory orientation.

Official program name
M.S. in Data Science, Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Charlottesville, VAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
33 credit hours
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
five semesters (20 months)
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an M.S. in Data Science; the online format has its own page, tuition and deadlines.

Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.Coursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Orientation Required

    Enrolling students are contacted about the mandatory orientation; the format/location is not stated.

    Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Not verified

    Weekly synchronous live sessions on weekday evenings (ET) are required and graded.

    weekly · online

    Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

Academic calendar

  • Live sessions on weekday evenings, typically 7:15 to 9:30 p.m. ET, no classes on Mondays and Fridays.
    Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a three- or four-year accredited institution, any major.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredCalculus II, Introductory Statistics, Programming and Linear Algebra, completed before the first term.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not requiredNo letters of recommendation, personal statement or GRE/GMAT.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Interview
Not requiredNo interview; a 45-second audio response is used instead.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$85 — $85 application fee or qualifying waiver.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts of all post-secondary study.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredGRE/GMAT scores are neither required nor accepted.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
GMAT
Not requiredNot accepted.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7Only if English was not the language of instruction at the undergraduate institution.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 130Only if English was not the language of instruction at the undergraduate institution.
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$1,511per creditEstimated tuition$49,863 = 33 credits × $1,511 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students — Total program tuition and fees$50,259entire programIncludes feesSource: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $50,259 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Total program tuition and fees, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Comprehensive Fee Off-Grounds, per semester
$12 per semesterMandatory
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tuition deposit (applied toward tuition)
$500Mandatory
Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Virginia.

International applicants

  • F-1 visas cannot be issued for the online program; international students wishing to study in the U.S. should apply to the residential program.Source: datascience.virginia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. datascience.virginia.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/info/online-msds-academics — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/info/online-msds-admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/info/online-msds-deadlines-and-events — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/info/online-msds-faqs — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/info/online-msds-tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/msds-online — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  8. datascience.virginia.edu/degrees/phd — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  9. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Virginia first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Data Science and Analytics

Data Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal)

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online
Location: Norfolk, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia Residents (includes $510 standard tuition + $162 mandatory auxiliary tuition) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Virginia. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.