Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Worcester Polytechnic Institute logo

Worcester Polytechnic Institute · Data Science Program

Master's in Data Science Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

The online MS in Data Science requires 30 graduate credits, including five core areas, 12 elective credits and a 3-credit Graduate Qualifying Project. There is no application fee and the GRE is not required; bridge courses are available for students without a specific technical undergraduate degree.

Official program name
Master's in Data Science Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Worcester, MA
Specializations
Artificial Intelligence (AI) & Machine Learning; Big Data Analytics & Management; Business Intelligence
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
30 graduate credit hours
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered on campus (separate record). The online program page does not state whether all requirements can be completed without attending campus.

Why this program is listed

Online delivery of the MS in Data Science.

Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Format not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Five 3-credit core areas, 12 elective credits; no more than 14 credits from the School of Business.
    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

  • Graduate Qualifying Project (GQP), 3 credits (DS 598).
    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • A foundational track is required for students without appropriate math and/or programming experience.
    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

  • Artificial Intelligence (AI) & Machine Learning; Big Data Analytics & Management; Business Intelligence
    Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredNo specific undergraduate degree needed; bridge courses built in
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Waived$70 — Application fee waived for the online program
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • WPI participates in NC-SARA; complaint procedures for online students in non-SARA states are listed. Official pageSource: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • WPI participates in the National Council State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement (NC-SARA). Official pageSource: wpi.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. wpi.edu/academics/online/study/data-science-ms — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. wpi.edu/academics/online/support/state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. wpi.edu/academics/study/data-science-phd — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. wpi.edu/admissions/graduate/application-requirements?itemId=6421 — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Harvard University logo

Harvard University

Master of Science in Health Data Science

Master of Science - Health Data Science

Master'sSM
Location: Cambridge, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: 2 years; 4 semesters (full-time) · 80 credits
Tuition: $58,272 per academic year · All students — Master of Science 80-credit, 2 years full-time · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Harvard University logo

Harvard University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master's in Data Science

Master'sSM
Location: Cambridge, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: at least 3 semesters (one and a half academic years); some students extend to a fourth semester · 48 credits
Tuition: $33,752 per term · All students — Second year (one term only) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program
Boston University logo

Boston University

Master of Science in Data Science

MS in Data Science (Residential)

Master'sMS
Location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: As little as 9 months full-time; 16 months with the internship or thesis option (full-time) · 32 credits
Tuition: $2,282 per credit · All students — Part-time (2-11 credits) per-credit rate · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Worcester Polytechnic Institute. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.