Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona · Statistics & Data Science Graduate Interdisciplinary Program

Ph.D. in Statistics & Data Science

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Statistics and Data Science

PhDJoint degreePartial funding

Overview

A 71-unit interdisciplinary Ph.D. with a regular track and a statistical informatics track, a qualifying exam, written and oral comprehensive exams, a Ph.D. minor and a dissertation; fall admission only.

Official program name
Ph.D. in Statistics & Data Science
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Statistics and Data Science
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
PhD — research doctorate
Program classification
Joint degree naming data scienceOne degree whose official title names data science together with another field, such as Statistics and Data Science.
School
Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Tucson, AZ
Specializations
Regular Track · Statistical Informatics Track
Source: stat.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
71 units of coursework
Source: stat.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Fall
Source: statistics.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Single research doctorate whose catalog title names statistics and data science (STATDSPHD).

Source: catalog.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: stat.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Both tracks require a qualifying exam, written and oral comprehensive exams, and a final dissertation defense.
    Source: stat.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in Statistics, Biostatistics, Mathematics or Applied Mathematics, or an advanced degree in a quantitative field
Source: statistics.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.0 GPA
Source: statistics.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Statement of purpose, official transcripts, three letters of recommendation and a list of statistics and mathematics courses
Source: statistics.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RecommendedNot required but highly recommended; scores exceeding the 75th percentile Quantitative and 50th percentile Verbal.
Source: statistics.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: statistics.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Partial funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated.

Separate application
Admitted applicants are automatically considered for a teaching assistantship.
Source: stat.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • WASC Senior College and University Commission (WSCUC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Arizona Online courses with internship, field experience, or clinical rotation components may not be available in American Samoa, Guam and the Northern Mariana Islands. Official pageSource: online.arizona.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.arizona.edu/programs/STATDSPHD — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. online.arizona.edu/about/eligibility-state-authorization — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. DAPIP — WSCUC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. stat.arizona.edu/ms-statistics-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. stat.arizona.edu/phd-statistics-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. statistics.arizona.edu/admissions — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Middle Tennessee State University logo

Middle Tennessee State University

Doctor of Philosophy in Computational and Data Science

Computational and Data Science, Ph.D.

PhDJoint degreeCompetitive full funding
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $623 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate in-state, hours 1-10, Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Stipend: Published stipend $20,100
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Arizona. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.