Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Boston University logo

Boston University · Faculty of Computing & Data Sciences

Online Master of Science in Data Science (Online MSDS)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A 30-unit online MS in Data Science delivered in 11 sequential modules over 16 continuous months, with a launch orientation and bootcamp, live Zoom sessions and a capstone project. The page states there are no in-person requirements; total tuition is $25,000.

Official program name
Online Master of Science in Data Science (Online MSDS)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Boston, MAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 units across 11 modules
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
16 continuous months, including a required summer term (16-24 months stated on the program page)
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

A residential MS in Data Science is offered separately (separate record).

Why this program is listed

The awarded degree is a Master of Science in Data Science, delivered online (marketed as Online MS in Data Science & AI).

Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
No required campus visits (stated)
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Each module ends with a mini-project and the program concludes with a capstone project.
    Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • Live sessions are synchronous Zoom sessions of about one to two hours.
    Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Launch orientation and bootcamp completed before the official start of the semester (the program states it has no in-person requirements).
    Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredFour-year bachelor's degree from an accredited U.S. institution or international equivalent
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Work experience
Not requiredNo minimum work experience; admitted students typically have two years of full-time experience
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement of approximately 200 words
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Optional1 letters — One optional letter of recommendation
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV/Resume
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for application; official if admitted
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalGRE/GMAT not required; may be submitted.
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
GMAT
OptionalGRE/GMAT not required; may be submitted.
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Recommended — minimum 90Minimum of 90 iBT recommended; waivers for English-medium degrees or two years of U.S. full-time work.
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
IELTS Academic
Recommended — minimum 6.5Competitive applicants typically score 6.5 on each band.
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Recommended — minimum 110
Source: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Total Cost of OMDS Program (10 modules at $2,500 each)$25,000entire programSource: bu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $25,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Online students — Total Cost of OMDS Program (10 modules at $2,500 each), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Massachusetts.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. bu.edu/academics/cds/programs/ms-in-data-science-online/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/online-msds/application/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/online-msds/faq/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/online-msds/tuition-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. bu.edu/cds-faculty/programs-admissions/phd-degree/funding/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Boston University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.