Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
The University of Texas at Austin logo

The University of Texas at Austin · Department of Statistics and Data Sciences and Department of Computer Science

Online Master of Science in Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit-hour online master's degree of ten 3-credit courses offered jointly by the Department of Statistics and Data Science and the Department of Computer Science. Students may start in fall or spring and study part time or full time; total tuition is $10,000 regardless of residency.

Official program name
Online Master of Science in Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Austin, TXWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credit hours (10 semester-length courses)
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
18 to 36 months
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Data Science.

Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: catalog.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time or Full-time
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Exams may be proctored or otherwise monitored; the page does not say whether in person.

    Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Gateway course Principles of Data Science, 12 credit hours of required core courses and 15 credit hours of electives.
    Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited US institution or a comparable foreign degree.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — At least 3.0 on a 4.0 scale in upper-division work and any graduate work; applicants below 3.0 require a Graduate School petition.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredCalculus and linear algebra (MATH 408D and MATH 341 equivalents) completed before enrollment.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statistics prerequisites
RequiredSDS 320E equivalent.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredProgramming experience in a language such as Python, R, Java or C++.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredTwo-page statement of purpose.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Optional3 letters — Letters of recommendation are optional; do not exceed three.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV/resume.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
RequiredApplication fee required (amount set by the Office of Graduate Admissions).
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredMSDS Quest Assessment (60-minute, open-book) and Mathematics Preparation Form.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalNot required; considered if provided.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
GMAT
Not requiredGMAT scores are not accepted.
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredTOEFL iBT, IELTS Academic or Duolingo English Test required for international applicants unless exempt (English-only official language country or bachelor's from such an institution or a US institution).
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    March 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    April 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Priority deadline

    August 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    September 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$10,000entire programSource: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students$1,000per courseSource: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $10,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Late registration and international student support fees, when applicable
Amount not stated per semester
Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

  • The programs do not offer visa status; students with F1/OPT status may face restrictions on online study.Source: cdso.utexas.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.utexas.edu/graduate/areas-of-study/natural-sciences/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. cdso.utexas.edu/apply — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. cdso.utexas.edu/faq — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. cdso.utexas.edu/msds — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. cdso.utexas.edu/sites/default/files/2025-01/MSDS_Application_Guide.pdf — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  7. provost.utexas.edu/finance-reporting-compliance/state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Rice University logo

Rice University

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (MDS) Degree, Online Program

Master'sMDS Fully online
Location: Houston, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: part-time within 2 - 3.5 years; full-time in 18-24 months with strong prerequisites; up to 5 years allowed (full-time vs. part-time) · 31 credits
Tuition: $1,700 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $52,700 (31 credits × $1,700 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science (online)

Master'sMS
Location: Lubbock, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.In-person requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: as little as a year, or the online two-year option (one year on the one-year lock-step schedule) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (Online / Distance)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: College Station, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Duration: The average student finishes in 3 to 4 years; up to 7 years allowed. (average student) · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,880 per course · Resident (in-state) — Approximate in-state tuition and fees for 3 credit hours (excludes Distance Education Differential tuition and fees) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with The University of Texas at Austin. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.