Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees

Eastern University · School of Mathematics and Computational Sciences

MS in Data Science (Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit online master's delivered in self-paced 7-week courses, with starts every 7 weeks. Total tuition and program fees are published as $9,900 for 2026-2027.

Official program name
MS in Data Science (Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: catalog.eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Saint Davids, PAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credits
Source: catalog.eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
As little as 10 months; 30 credits in as few as 2.5 semesters (6 credits per 7-week session) (6 credits per 7-week session)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Every 7 weeks
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

The graduate catalog lists a Master of Science in Data Science.

Source: catalog.eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Required courses: Data Analytics in R, Data and Database Management with SQL, Foundations of Machine Learning Models, and Ethical and Philosophical Issues in Data Science and Analytics, plus electives.
    Source: catalog.eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Academic calendar

  • Each course is 3 credits and the program has 10 courses.
    Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Minimum GPA of 3.0 preferred; applicants below 3.0 considered case by case and must submit a GPA letter.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent resume
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredThe application is free.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from the degree-conferring undergraduate institution (and graduate institution if applicable).
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
International applicants
RequiredCourse-by-course evaluation of international college courses by a NACES member.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredIdentity verification through the PLAID platform after submitting the application.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79Applicants from non-English-speaking countries; 79 internet-based, 550 written, or 213 computer-based, taken within 2 years.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duolingo English Test
OptionalAccepted as an alternative to TOEFL.
Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 14, 2026 · for Spring 1 2027

    Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    February 22, 2027 · for Spring 2 2027

    Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    May 3, 2027 · for Summer 1 2027

    Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    June 21, 2027 · for Summer 2 2027

    Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$9,900entire program · 2026-2027Includes feesSource: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students — Graduate Degrees and Certificates in Data Science or Data Analytics (MS & Certs)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$300per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$9,000 = 30 credits × $300 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: eastern.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $9,900 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Pennsylvania.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.eastern.edu/graduate/programs/data-science-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. eastern.edu/about/offices-centers/student-accounts-office/tuition-fees/tuition-fees-2026-2027/gradua — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. eastern.edu/academics/colleges-seminary/college-health-and-sciences/departments/department-mathemati — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. eastern.edu/academics/graduate-programs/ms-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Pennsylvania first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Pittsburgh logo

University of Pittsburgh

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (MDS)

Master'sMDS Fully online
Location: Pittsburgh, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: 20 to 36 months to complete · 30 credits
Tuition: $15,300 entire program · All students — Approximate total tuition, regardless of residency · year not stated
Next deadline: January 6, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Pennsylvania logo

University of Pennsylvania

Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science

Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science (MSE-DS) Online

Master'sMSE Fully online
Location: Philadelphia, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 10 credits
Tuition: $3,859 per credit · Online students — Penn Engineering Online tuition per course unit · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,590 (10 credits × $3,859 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 26, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Location: University Park, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $1,048 per credit · Online students — 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,584 (33 credits × $1,048 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Eastern University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.