Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Pittsburgh logo

University of Pittsburgh · School of Computing and Information

Master of Data Science (MDS)

Awarded degree: Master of Data Science

Master'sMDSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A fully online, asynchronous 30-credit Master of Data Science from Pitt's School of Computing and Information, delivered with Coursera. Admission is by earning a B or higher in a 3-credit pathway course plus bachelor's degree verification; tuition is $510 per credit (about $15,300 total) regardless of residency.

Official program name
Master of Data Science (MDS)
Awarded degree
Master of Data Science
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: tuition.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Pittsburgh, PAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credits (ten courses)
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
20 to 36 months to complete
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Spring
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Delivered through Coursera; the program's degree requirements and admissions pages are hosted on coursera.org and were not used as sources.

Why this program is listed

Master of Data Science awarded by the University of Pittsburgh SCI; Coursera is the delivery partner.

Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Other

  • Performance-based admission: complete the 3-credit pathway course Data-Centric Computing with a B or higher.
    Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredVerification of a bachelor's degree from an accredited U.S. university or equivalent.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
Not requiredNo essays.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not requiredNo letters of recommendation.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
Not requiredNo resume, transcripts, essays or letters of recommendation.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredPathway course Data-Centric Computing (3 credits) completed with a B or higher.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 80International students; iBT 80 or PBT 550; waivable under university exceptions.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5International students; alternative to TOEFL.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 110International students; alternative to TOEFL.
Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Other deadline

    January 6, 2027 · for Spring 2027

    Source: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Online graduate, School of Computing and Information, Master of Data Science, part-time per creditFrom the university's online tuition table$510per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$15,300 = 30 credits × $510 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: tuition.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students — Approximate total tuition, regardless of residency$15,300entire programSource: sci.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $15,300 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Approximate total tuition, regardless of residency, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Computing and Network Services Fee, part-time per term
$137 per termMandatory
Source: tuition.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Program Administration Fee, part-time per term
$75 per termMandatory
Source: tuition.pitt.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Pennsylvania.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  4. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  5. sci.pitt.edu/academics/masters-degrees/data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. sci.pitt.edu/performance-based-admissions-enrollment — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. tuition.pitt.edu/online-graduate/tuition/school-computing-and-information/master-data-science-0 — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Pennsylvania first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Pennsylvania logo

University of Pennsylvania

Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science

Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science (MSE-DS) Online

Master'sMSE Fully online
Location: Philadelphia, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: Length not published · 10 credits
Tuition: $3,859 per credit · Online students — Penn Engineering Online tuition per course unit · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $38,590 (10 credits × $3,859 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: October 26, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Location: University Park, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $1,048 per credit · Online students — 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,584 (33 credits × $1,048 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

Eastern University

Master of Science in Data Science

MS in Data Science (Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Saint Davids, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: As little as 10 months; 30 credits in as few as 2.5 semesters (6 credits per 7-week session) (6 credits per 7-week session) · 30 credits
Tuition: $300 per credit · All students — Graduate Degrees and Certificates in Data Science or Data Analytics (MS & Certs) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Pittsburgh. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.