Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University · School of Mathematical and Statistical Sciences

Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBSData science degree Fully onlineFirst-year entry

Overview

The ASU Online BS in Data Science: 120 credits taken as 40 classes of 7.5 weeks, with six start dates a year and specialized tracks. Diplomas do not indicate online study.

Official program name
Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Data Science
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Tempe, AZWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
120 credit hours (40 classes, 7.5 weeks each)
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Four years when enrolled full-time (full-time)
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Six start dates per year
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The program page states it is also available in person (see bs-data-science).

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. First-year applicants: competency courses plus top 25%, 3.00 competency GPA, or ACT/SAT threshold.Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed

ASU Online version of the BS in Data Science with its own program page, start dates and online tuition.

Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: degrees.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — One of: top 25% of high school class, 3.00 GPA in competency courses, or ACT/SAT threshold
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
OptionalACT/SAT is one of several ways to meet requirements; scores not required for admission.
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — ASU Online undergraduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ)From the university's online tuition table$580per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$69,600 = 120 credits × $580 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $69,600 (120 credits × $580 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — ASU Online undergraduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. asuonline.asu.edu/online-degree-programs/undergraduate/data-science-online-degree/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. asuonline.asu.edu/what-it-costs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. degrees.asu.edu/bachelors/major/ASU00/LADATSCIBS/data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Maryland Global Campus logo

University of Maryland Global Campus

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Data Science Bachelor of Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry
Location: Adelphi, MDUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $337 per credit · Resident (in-state) · year not statedEst. total tuition $59,880 (120 credits × $499 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Maryville University of Saint Louis logo

Maryville University of Saint Louis

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully online
Location: Saint Louis, MOUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $575 per credit · Online students — BS in Data Science (online) · 2025-2026Est. total tuition $69,000 (120 credits × $575 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Bellevue University logo

Bellevue University

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor's Degree in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully online
Location: Bellevue, NEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 127 credits
Tuition: $459 per credit · Online students — Undergraduate, Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,293 (127 credits × $459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Arizona State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.