Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Florida Atlantic University logo

Florida Atlantic University · Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science

Master of Science with Major in Data Science and Analytics - Data Science and Engineering Concentration (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science with Major in Data Science and Analytics

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online

Overview

The Data Science and Engineering (DSAL) concentration of the MS with major in Data Science and Analytics, which FAU states is also available fully online; minimum 30 credits with thesis and non-thesis options and no GRE requirement. Online course sections carry a $30 per credit distance learning fee in addition to graduate tuition and fees.

Official program name
Master of Science with Major in Data Science and Analytics - Data Science and Engineering Concentration (online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science with Major in Data Science and Analytics
Source: business.fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Joint degree naming data scienceOne degree whose official title names data science together with another field, such as Statistics and Data Science.Focus: Data science and engineering
School
Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Boca Raton, FLWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
minimum of 30 credits
Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Same MS in Data Science and Analytics; the Data Science and Engineering concentration is offered fully online.

Source: business.fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: business.fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Thesis

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Minimum GPA
RecommendedMinimum 3 — Desirable minimum GPA 3.0 in the last 60 credits
Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredCollege-level programming, calculus (MAC 2233 or equivalent) and statistics
Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 79International students from non-English-speaking countries; IELTS 6.0 accepted
Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    July 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Grad - Resident, total per credit hour (tuition and fees)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$371.82per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$11,154.60 = 30 credits × $371.82 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Grad - Non Resident, total per credit hour (tuition and fees)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,125.06per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$33,751.80 = 30 credits × $1,125.06 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $33,751.80 (30 credits × $1,125.06 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Grad - Non Resident, total per credit hour (tuition and fees), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Distance Learning Fee
$30 per creditMandatory
Source: fau.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Florida.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. business.fau.edu/masters-phd/data-science-analytics/program-information/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. fau.edu/controllers-office/student-services/tuition-breakdown/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/future-students/data-science-and-analytics/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/graduate/ms/data-science-and-analytics/admiss-reqs/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. fau.edu/engineering/eecs/graduate/ms/data-science-and-analytics/degree-reqs/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. fau.edu/graduate/graduate-programs/ms-data-science-and-analytics-in-engineering/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Florida first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Florida Atlantic University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.