Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University · New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences

Online Master of Arts in Social Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Arts in Social Data Science

Master'sMAData science degree Fully online

Overview

An ASU Online master's of 30 credits (10 classes of 7.5 weeks) from New College of Interdisciplinary Arts and Sciences covering the theory, research and application of social data science; open to applicants with a degree in any field.

Official program name
Online Master of Arts in Social Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Arts in Social Data Science
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.Focus: Social science data science
School
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Tempe, AZWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credit hours (10 classes, 7.5 weeks each)
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The page states the program is also available in person; the campus version was not researched separately.

Why this program is listed

Specialized data science degree whose title names data science (Social Data Science).

Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: degrees.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum details: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's or master's degree in any field
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum 3.00 GPA in the last 60 hours of the bachelor's or in an applicable master's
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose answering set questions
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
OptionalLetters of recommendation not required
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Writing sample
RequiredScholarly writing sample, at least 1,500 words
Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ)From the university's online tuition table$605per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$18,150 = 30 credits × $605 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: asuonline.asu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $18,150 (30 credits × $605 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — ASU Online graduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Arizona.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. asuonline.asu.edu/online-degree-programs/graduate/social-data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. asuonline.asu.edu/what-it-costs/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. degrees.asu.edu/bachelors/major/ASU00/LADATSCIBS/data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Arizona first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Arizona logo

University of Arizona

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science Master of Science (Arizona Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Tucson, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $650 per credit · Online students — Online campus tuition per unit · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,500 (30 credits × $650 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Arizona State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.