Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Colorado Boulder logo

University of Colorado Boulder · College of Engineering and Applied Science

Master of Science in Data Science Online on the Coursera platform (MS-DS on Coursera)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

An online 30-credit, non-thesis master's hosted on Coursera with performance-based admission: students are admitted by completing a three-course pathway with a GPA of 3.0 or better. Courses run in six 8-week sessions per year and tuition is charged per credit hour at the same rate for all students.

Official program name
Master of Science in Data Science Online on the Coursera platform (MS-DS on Coursera)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Boulder, COWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Students who take 3 courses per 8-week session typically complete the degree in about 2 years; all courses must be completed within 8 years. (3 courses per 8-week session (full-time load))
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Spring 1, Spring 2, Summer 1, Summer 2, Fall 1, Fall 2
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Separate from the residential MS-DS; the Coursera degree and the on-campus degree are not interchangeable. The diploma carries no online designation.

Why this program is listed

CU Boulder awards the MS in Data Science; Coursera hosts the online coursework. Separate catalog entry, admissions model and tuition from the residential program.

Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Courses may include online proctored exams through ProctorU or Honorlock (online proctoring services).

    online

    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Other in-person requirement Optional

    Graduates are welcome to attend on-campus graduation ceremonies but are not obligated to.

    Boulder, CO

    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 21 credits of core coursework and 9 elective credits, with hands-on projects in cloud-based environments and Jupyter Notebooks.
    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

  • The degree does not currently include a capstone project.
    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Academic calendar

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
Not requiredA prior degree is not required for admission.
Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedNo formal prerequisites; students should know Python, R, calculus and linear algebra.
Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
Not requiredNo transcripts, essays, letters of recommendation or application fees.
Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Other requirement
RequiredPerformance-based admission: complete a three-course pathway with a GPA of 3.0 or better in each course; no traditional application.
Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredNo test scores are requested.
Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Not requiredNo test scores are requested.
Source: catalog.colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Other deadline

    February 19, 2027 · for Spring 1 2027 · America/Denver

    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$525per creditEstimated tuition$15,750 = 30 credits × $525 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students$15,750entire programSource: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $15,750 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Colorado.

International applicants

  • Open to students worldwide except where U.S. sanctions apply; students are not eligible for a student visa because the program is entirely online.Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Not eligible for FAFSA federal student aid; CU Boulder does not offer scholarships for this program.
    Source: colorado.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.colorado.edu/graduate/colleges-schools/engineering-applied-science/programs-study/data-scien — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. colorado.edu/program/data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. colorado.edu/program/data-science/coursera — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. colorado.edu/program/data-science/coursera/calendar — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. colorado.edu/program/data-science/coursera/faqs — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. colorado.edu/program/data-science/coursera/finances — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Colorado first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Colorado Boulder. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.