Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington · Luddy School of Informatics, Computing, and Engineering

Master of Science in Data Science - Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit online M.S. in Data Science delivered asynchronously with no residency requirement, five start dates per year, rolling admission and up to five years to finish.

Official program name
Master of Science in Data Science - Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: bulletins.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Bloomington, INWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Data Analytics and Visualization · Intelligent Systems Engineering · Cybersecurity
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
30 credit hours of graduate-level coursework
Source: bulletins.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
up to five years (maximum time to complete, part-time or full-time)
Source: bulletins.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
January, March, May, August, October
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered as a separate residential M.S. in Data Science (see ms-data-science).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an M.S. in Data Science (online format, MSDSO).

Source: bulletins.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: bulletins.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
No required campus visits (stated)
Source: bulletins.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 6 credits core (statistical methods; machine learning and AI), 6 credits in a data science domain, a 3-credit capstone project and 15 credits of electives.
    Source: bulletins.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

  • Capstone course with real-world projects for clients or an independent data science research project.
    Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
Required3- or 4-year bachelor's degree with cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredMathematical knowledge like linear algebra, calculus, and/or probability
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredObject-oriented programming knowledge in C/C++, Python and/or R
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredOne to two-page personal statement
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — Name and email of one academic and/or professional reference
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredOne to two-page resume
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$70 — Non-refundable application fee of $70
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027 (January 11, 2027 start)

    Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    February 1, 2027 · for Spring 2027 (March 8, 2027 start)

    Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    April 11, 2027 · for Summer 2027 (May 11, 2027 start)

    Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    July 31, 2027 · for Fall 2027 (August 23, 2027 start)

    Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    September 18, 2027 · for Fall 2027 (October 18, 2027 start)

    Source: luddy.iu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Indiana.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. bulletins.iu.edu/iub/sice/2026-2027/graduate/degree-programs/master-of-data-science-online-and-4+1-m — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. luddy.iu.edu/academics/masters/data-science-online.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. luddy.iu.edu/academics/units/data-science.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. luddy.iu.edu/admissions/online-graduate.html — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science (Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: West Lafayette, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $933.33 per credit · All students — Indiana resident and non-resident/international per credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,999.90 (30 credits × $933.33 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Location: Notre Dame, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.In-person requirements not published · Part-time
Duration: 21 months (part-time enrollment, six credits per semester) · 30 credits
Tuition: $12,200 per semester · All students — Per semester, Class of 2029 · year not stated
Next deadline: March 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Indiana University Bloomington. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.