Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire · Department of Mathematics

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A fixed 30-credit online M.S. in Data Science of ten three-credit courses ending in a capstone, offered by UW-Eau Claire as one of six home campuses of a collaborative Universities of Wisconsin program, with spring, summer and fall starts.

Official program name
Data Science - Master of Science Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: catalog.uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Eau Claire, WIWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 online credits
Source: catalog.uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring, Summer, Fall
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Data Science; UW-Eau Claire is one of the home campuses of the collaborative Universities of Wisconsin program.

Source: catalog.uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: uwex.wisconsin.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Ten required three-credit courses, including Exploratory Data Analysis, Statistical Methods, Programming for Data Science, Data Mining & Machine Learning, Deep Learning and the Data Science Capstone.
    Source: catalog.uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

Other

  • The M.S. in Data Science is a partnership of UW-Eau Claire, UW-Green Bay, UW-La Crosse, UW-Oshkosh, UW-Stevens Point and UW-Superior; students apply to a home campus.
    Source: uwex.wisconsin.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college or university
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Cumulative GPA of 3.0; provisional admission may be considered below 3.0
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RequiredRecent coursework in elementary statistics and introductory computer programming; relevant work experience may be considered instead
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredEssay
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from bachelor's and any advanced degree institutions
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
GMAT
Not required
Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    January 15 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 15 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    August 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate$875per creditEstimated tuition$26,250 = 30 credits × $875 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Wisconsin is a SARA state and UW-Eau Claire is a SARA-approved institution. Official pageSource: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Wisconsin is a SARA state (State Authorization Reciprocity Agreement) and the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire is a SARA-approved institution. Official pageSource: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

  • Students pay the same tuition whether they live in Wisconsin or elsewhere.
    Source: uwec.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.uwec.edu/graduate/programs/mathematics/data-science-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. uwex.wisconsin.edu/data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. uwec.edu/academics/programs/graduate/master-science-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. uwec.edu/apply/graduate-student — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. uwec.edu/master-science-data-science-admission-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. uwec.edu/offices-services/blugold-central/graduate-tuition-and-fee-schedules — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Wisconsin first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Old Dominion University logo

Old Dominion University

Master of Science in Data Science and Analytics

Data Science and Analytics Online Master's Program (ODUGlobal)

Master'sMSJoint degree Fully online
Location: Norfolk, VAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $672 per credit · Resident (in-state) — In-state Virginia Residents (includes $510 standard tuition + $162 mandatory auxiliary tuition) · year not statedEst. total tuition $19,860 (30 credits × $662 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.