Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Rochester logo

University of Rochester · Goergen Institute for Data Science and Artificial Intelligence

MS in Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

An in-person, 30-credit (typically 32) STEM-designated master's degree completed full-time in two or three semesters, with four core courses, application-area electives and a required team practicum whose final presentation serves as the exit exam; a genomics track is available.

Official program name
MS in Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Rochester, NY
Specializations
Genomics Track
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
30 credits (typically completed with 32; genomics track 33)
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
two or three semesters of full-time study (10 or 17 months) (full-time)
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The online program from the institute is a different degree (MS in Healthcare Data Science and AI).

Why this program is listed

Master of Science in data science.

Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Project

  • Required practicum (DSCC 483) with a sponsoring organization; the final presentation serves as the master's exit exam.
    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

  • Core: Data Mining, Introduction to Databases, Computational Introduction to Statistics, Introduction to Statistical Machine Learning; at least 10 credits of application-area courses.
    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • A summer bridging course in data structures is required for admitted students who lack data structures.
    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree; STEM field preferred but not required
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredUndergraduate mathematics through basic calculus
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredSome prior programming experience
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$30 — $30; may be waived for University of Rochester students, employees, alumni and part-time applicants
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 7Non-native English speakers; TOEFL or Duolingo (minimum 120) also accepted; waivers for listed countries.
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duolingo English Test
Required — minimum 120One accepted English proficiency option for non-native English speakers.
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    January 5 (full-time early) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    February 15 (full-time regular) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    March 15 (late round for full-time Fall entry) · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Program total assuming 32 SAS/Hajim credits$71,488entire program · 2026-2027Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students — SAS/Hajim courses, per credit hour$2,234per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$67,020 = 30 credits × $2,234 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $71,488 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Program total assuming 32 SAS/Hajim credits, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Mandatory health fee (full-time)
$552 per semesterMandatory
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Graduate activity fee (full-time)
$20 per semesterMandatory
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
International student fee
$100 per semesterMandatory
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. rochester.edu/data-science/graduate/apply.html — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. rochester.edu/data-science/graduate/faq.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. rochester.edu/data-science/graduate/ms.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. rochester.edu/data-science/graduate/tuition-fees.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. rochester.edu/data-science/undergraduate/faq.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)

Master'sMS
Location: Syracuse, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as one year (through summer and Winterlude coursework, depending on course availability) · 31 credits
Tuition: $2,086 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: Potsdam, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: three semesters (full-time, residential) (full-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Rochester. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.