Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
New York University logo

New York University · Center for Data Science, Graduate School of Arts and Science

Data Science (MS)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A 36-credit MS in Data Science with core courses in data science, probability and statistics, machine learning and big data, a capstone project and presentation, and an optional Industry Concentration.

Official program name
Data Science (MS)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
New York, NY
Specializations
Industry Concentration
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
36 credits
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Data Science (Graduate School of Arts and Science / Center for Data Science).

Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Capstone

  • DS-GA 1006 Capstone Project and Presentation (3 credits) is a major requirement.
    Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Internship

  • The Industry Concentration requires a Practical Training experience (DS-GA 1009, taken within the first year).
    Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredSubstantial mathematical competencies typical of a major in mathematics, statistics, engineering, physics, theoretical economics or computer science
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RecommendedSome training in programming and basic computer science
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredApplicant statements
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
RequiredLetters of recommendation
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredRésumé or curriculum vitae
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredGSAS general application requirements: transcripts, test scores if required, applicant statements, resume/CV, letters of recommendation, application fee
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. bulletins.nyu.edu/graduate/arts-science/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. bulletins.nyu.edu/graduate/arts-science/programs/data-science-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  3. bulletins.nyu.edu/graduate/arts-science/programs/data-science-phd/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  4. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)

Master'sMS
Location: Syracuse, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as one year (through summer and Winterlude coursework, depending on course availability) · 31 credits
Tuition: $2,086 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: Potsdam, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: three semesters (full-time, residential) (full-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — Columbia Engineering M.S. programs, per credit (2026–2027 estimated) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $84,660 (30 credits × $2,822 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with New York University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.