Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Rochester logo

University of Rochester · Goergen Institute for Data Science and Artificial Intelligence, with the UR Health Lab

MS in Healthcare Data Science and AI

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science and AI

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

An online, 32-credit master's degree of eight four-credit courses, built with the UR Health Lab, delivered through scheduled Zoom lectures that are also recorded, and ending in a healthcare data science practicum and capstone; full-time in two semesters or part-time.

Official program name
MS in Healthcare Data Science and AI
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science and AI
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.Focus: Health / biomedical data science
School
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Rochester, NYWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
32 credits (eight four-credit courses)
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
10 months or up to 22 months; maximum 5 years
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Summer, Fall
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Lectures are also recorded for offline review; the page encourages attending synchronous lectures.

Why this program is listed

The diploma reads Master of Science in Data Science and AI (program marketed as Healthcare Data Science and AI). Data science is named in the awarded degree; the profile shows the official awarded title.

Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
No required campus visits (stated)
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Synchronous (live sessions)
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Exams may be proctored or otherwise monitored; format not specified.

    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Students propose their own capstone projects with a disciplinary mentor and a data science mentor.
    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

  • Courses include Healthcare Data Management and Clinical Informatics, Deep Learning for Healthcare, and a Healthcare Data Science Practicum.
    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from a regionally accredited US institution or comparable foreign degree
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Prerequisite courses
Not requiredProgramming, calculus and statistics not required but beneficial
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredConsidered if provided.
Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Final deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Rolling
  • Final deadline

    Rolling admission · for Summer 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: rochester.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside New York.

International applicants

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. rochester.edu/data-science/graduate/apply.html — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. rochester.edu/data-science/graduate/healthcare-faq.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. rochester.edu/data-science/graduate/ms-in-healthcare-data-science.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Clarkson University logo

Clarkson University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Master of Science in Applied Data Science (Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Potsdam, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: about two years (part-time) (part-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Online MS in Applied Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Syracuse, NYUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: as few as 12 months (accelerated); 18–24 months (standard); up to 36 months (decelerated) (accelerated path with intensive, full-time enrollment) · 31 credits
Tuition: $2,086 per credit · Online students · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 16, 2026 · January 2027
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Rochester. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.