Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Maryland Global Campus logo

University of Maryland Global Campus

Data Science Bachelor of Science

Awarded degree: Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBSData science degree Fully onlineFirst-year entryTransfer entry

Overview

A 120-credit bachelor's degree with 39 required major credits covering statistics, data analytics, data visualization, machine learning and artificial intelligence, ending in a data science capstone. All courses are available online, with select hybrid courses.

Official program name
Data Science Bachelor of Science
Awarded degree
Bachelor of Science in Data Science
Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Bachelor's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Location
Adelphi, MDWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
120 credits: 39 required major credits, 41 general education credits, 40 elective credits
Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Select hybrid courses are available; the page does not state any required in-person component.

How students enter this degree

  • First-year entry. Students who meet UMGC's undergraduate admission requirements can enroll; no prior data science background needed.Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Transfer entry. Up to 90 transfer credits accepted.Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Bachelor of Science in Data Science.

Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Data Science Capstone (DATA 495): a peer-reviewed report and presentation on a topic from student-affiliated organizations, employers, agencies or faculty-approved sources.
    Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

  • Required major courses include Foundations of Data Science, Data Visualization, Foundations of Machine Learning, Advanced Machine Learning, Advanced Data Science, Data Ethics and Artificial Intelligence Solutions.
    Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Accelerated options

  • Accelerated pathway may reduce coursework for UMGC's master's degree in data analytics or graduate certificate in business analytics.
    Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior college credits
RequiredHigh school graduation or equivalent (or an associate's degree / 60 credits with at least a 2.0 GPA)
Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
RequiredNew students complete the online application and pay the application fee
Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

SAT / ACT
Not required
Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state)$337per creditEstimated tuition$40,440 = 120 credits × $337 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state)$499per creditEstimated tuition$59,880 = 120 credits × $499 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Military$250per creditEstimated tuition$30,000 = 120 credits × $250 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: umgc.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $59,880 (120 credits × $499 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Maryland.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. umgc.edu/admission/requirements/undergraduate — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. umgc.edu/online-degrees/bachelors/data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Maryland first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Arizona State University logo

Arizona State University

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully onlineFirst-year entry
Location: Tempe, AZUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Four years when enrolled full-time (full-time) · 120 credits
Tuition: $580 per credit · Online students — ASU Online undergraduate tuition for most programs, 2026-27, plus program fees (program rate may differ) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $69,600 (120 credits × $580 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: January 11, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Maryville University of Saint Louis logo

Maryville University of Saint Louis

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully online
Location: Saint Louis, MOUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 120 credits
Tuition: $575 per credit · Online students — BS in Data Science (online) · 2025-2026Est. total tuition $69,000 (120 credits × $575 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Bellevue University logo

Bellevue University

Bachelor of Science in Data Science

Online Bachelor's Degree in Data Science

Bachelor'sBS Fully online
Location: Bellevue, NEUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 127 credits
Tuition: $459 per credit · Online students — Undergraduate, Online · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $58,293 (127 credits × $459 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Maryland Global Campus. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.