Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University · Department of Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (Online / Distance)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Statistical Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A non-thesis distance master's in which lectures recorded in on-campus classes are posted online, with the same homework and exam schedule as on-campus students. Students choose Biostatistics, Applied Analytics & Data Science, or Applied emphasis courses and may finish with a project or an extra elective; enrollment is limited to residents of the Americas.

Official program name
Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (Online / Distance)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Statistical Data Science
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
College Station, TXWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Applied Analytics & Data Science emphasis · Biostatistics emphasis
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
32 hours, non-thesis
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
The average student finishes in 3 to 4 years; up to 7 years allowed. (average student)
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring, Summer
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Same degree and diploma as on-campus students; non-thesis only.

Why this program is listed

Distance modality of the MS in Statistical Data Science with its own deadlines, admission requirements and degree plan.

Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
No required campus visits (stated)
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Proctored exams Not verified

    Exams may require online, live attendance at a scheduled session; examples include exams proctored via Zoom.

    online

    Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 15 hours of required courses, 6 hours of emphasis courses, 6 hours of electives, and 5 hours of consulting and project.
    Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Project

  • STAT 685 project with written report and oral presentation by web conference, or an additional elective.
    Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredOne semester each of Calculus 1 and Calculus 2 and knowledge of matrix algebra
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — 3 professional references (letter or reference form)
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 15 · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    April 15 · for Summer 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    July 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Approximate in-state tuition and fees for 3 credit hours (excludes Distance Education Differential tuition and fees)$1,880per courseIncludes feesSource: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Approximate out-of-state tuition and fees for 3 credit hours (excludes Distance Education Differential tuition and fees)$3,400per courseIncludes feesSource: online.stat.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. artsci.tamu.edu/statistics/academics/graduate/statistics-ms.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. online.stat.tamu.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. online.stat.tamu.edu/apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. online.stat.tamu.edu/degree-plan/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. online.stat.tamu.edu/prospective-students/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. online.stat.tamu.edu/sets-us-apart/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Rice University logo

Rice University

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (MDS) Degree, Online Program

Master'sMDS Fully online
Location: Houston, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: part-time within 2 - 3.5 years; full-time in 18-24 months with strong prerequisites; up to 5 years allowed (full-time vs. part-time) · 31 credits
Tuition: $1,700 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $52,700 (31 credits × $1,700 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science (online)

Master'sMS
Location: Lubbock, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.In-person requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: as little as a year, or the online two-year option (one year on the one-year lock-step schedule) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
The University of Texas at Austin logo

The University of Texas at Austin

Master of Science in Data Science

Online Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Austin, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18 to 36 months · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,000 per course · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.