Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University · Department of Statistics, College of Arts and Sciences

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (on campus)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Statistical Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

An on-campus master's from the Department of Statistics with thesis (31 credits) and non-thesis (32 credits) options, a statistical consulting course, and emphasis areas including Applied Analytics & Data Science.

Official program name
Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (on campus)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Statistical Data Science
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
College Station, TX
Specializations
Applied Analytics & Data Science Emphasis · Biostatistics & Bioinformatics Emphasis · Computational Emphasis · Theoretical Emphasis
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
32 credit hours (non-thesis); 31 (thesis)
Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

Also offered as a non-thesis distance program (see ms-statistical-data-science-online).

Why this program is listed

Awarded degree title is Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (a specialized data science degree from the Department of Statistics). On-campus and distance modalities have separate admissions pages and requirements, so recorded separately.

Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Thesis

  • Thesis option (31 credits) with final oral examination, or non-thesis option (32 credits).
    Source: catalog.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Project

  • Non-thesis students complete either a STAT 685 project with oral presentation and written report, or an additional elective.
    Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Accelerated options

  • BS in Statistics + MS in Statistical Data Science (3+2) program for Texas A&M statistics majors.
    Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement or statement of purpose
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
RequiredLetters of recommendation (number not stated)
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCV/resume
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
RequiredNon-refundable application fee
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredNon-official transcripts; official transcripts only if admitted
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredNot required for Fall semester admissions.
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredApplicants whose native language is not English.
Source: artsci.tamu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. artsci.tamu.edu/statistics/academics/graduate/bs-ms-in-statistics.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. artsci.tamu.edu/statistics/academics/graduate/statistics-admissions.html — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. artsci.tamu.edu/statistics/academics/graduate/statistics-ms.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. artsci.tamu.edu/statistics/academics/graduate/statistics-requirements.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. catalog.tamu.edu/graduate/colleges-schools-interdisciplinary/arts-and-sciences/statistics/statistica — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Rice University logo

Rice University

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (MDS), On-Campus

Master'sMDS
Location: Houston, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: typically three consecutive semesters (fall, spring, second fall) (full-time) · 31 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: February 10, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program
Location: Lubbock, TX
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as a year (one-year lock-step program) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of North Texas logo

University of North Texas

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science (MS-DS)

Master'sMS
Location: Denton, TX
Delivery: HybridA substantial part of the coursework meets in person and part is online.Part in person, part online · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: November 9, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Texas A&M University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.