Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University · Rawls College of Business

Master of Science in Data Science (online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

The online format of the 36-credit-hour MS in Data Science. Students can take the one-year lock-step program online, a two-year online option starting in summer, or a part-time online entry in spring.

Official program name
Master of Science in Data Science (online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Lubbock, TXWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
36 credit hours
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
as little as a year, or the online two-year option (one year on the one-year lock-step schedule)A minimum under the stated conditions, not a typical length.
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Summer, Spring
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The one-year program is also offered on campus (see separate record).

Why this program is listed

Online format of the Master of Science in Data Science, listed by TTU Online.

Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.Coursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Other in-person requirement Not verified

    TTU Online states that some programs may require coming to the main campus or a regional site; the MSDS pages do not say whether this applies.

    Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Academic calendar

  • The two-year summer-start program is online only; spring entry is part-time and online only.
    Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Project

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree; no prior work experience required
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredDetailed current resume with dates of each position
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all post-secondary institutions attended
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
International applicants
RequiredInternational applicants must provide proof of English proficiency unless exempt.
Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1 · for Spring

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    May 1 · for Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: depts.ttu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this online program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Texas.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. depts.ttu.edu/online/programs/masters/dataScience/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. depts.ttu.edu/rawlsbusiness/graduate/mba/professional/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. depts.ttu.edu/rawlsbusiness/graduate/ms/datascience/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. depts.ttu.edu/rawlsbusiness/graduate/ms/datascience/schedule.php — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Rice University logo

Rice University

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (MDS) Degree, Online Program

Master'sMDS Fully online
Location: Houston, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: part-time within 2 - 3.5 years; full-time in 18-24 months with strong prerequisites; up to 5 years allowed (full-time vs. part-time) · 31 credits
Tuition: $1,700 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $52,700 (31 credits × $1,700 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (Online / Distance)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: College Station, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Duration: The average student finishes in 3 to 4 years; up to 7 years allowed. (average student) · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,880 per course · Resident (in-state) — Approximate in-state tuition and fees for 3 credit hours (excludes Distance Education Differential tuition and fees) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
The University of Texas at Austin logo

The University of Texas at Austin

Master of Science in Data Science

Online Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Austin, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18 to 36 months · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,000 per course · All students · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Texas Tech University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.