Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Columbia University in the City of New York logo

Columbia University in the City of New York · Data Science Institute (DSI)

Master of Science in Data Science (MSDS)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A 30-point MS in Data Science administered by the Data Science Institute with Computer Science, Industrial Engineering and Operations Research, and Statistics. It has a 21-credit core including a capstone and ethics course, at least 9 elective credits, and a professional development course.

Official program name
Master of Science in Data Science (MSDS)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
New York, NY
Required credits
30 points
Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Data Science from Columbia Engineering.

Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • 21-credit core in mathematical, statistical, computational and systems components; at least 9 elective credits.
    Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

Other

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree from an institution of acceptable standing (Columbia Engineering graduate admission)
Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Columbia Engineering M.S. programs, per credit (2026–2027 estimated)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$2,822per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$84,660 = 30 credits × $2,822 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bulletin.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $84,660 (30 credits × $2,822 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Columbia Engineering M.S. programs, per credit (2026–2027 estimated), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. bulletin.columbia.edu/columbia-engineering/academic-departments-programs/data-science/graduate-progr — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. bulletin.columbia.edu/columbia-engineering/graduate-studies/graduate-admissions/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  3. bulletin.columbia.edu/columbia-engineering/graduate-studies/graduate-tuition-fees-payments/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  4. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)

Master'sMS
Location: Syracuse, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as one year (through summer and Winterlude coursework, depending on course availability) · 31 credits
Tuition: $2,086 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: Potsdam, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: three semesters (full-time, residential) (full-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Columbia University in the City of New York. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.