Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Columbia University in the City of New York logo

Columbia University in the City of New York · Department of Biostatistics, Mailman School of Public Health

MS in Biostatistics — Public Health Data Science Track (MS/PHDS)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biostatistics — Public Health Data Science

Master'sMSDS concentration

Overview

A 36-credit MS in Biostatistics track at the Mailman School of Public Health that adds statistical learning, reproducible code and data management to core biostatistics training, with a one-term practicum and a capstone consulting seminar. Students begin in the fall.

Official program name
MS in Biostatistics — Public Health Data Science Track (MS/PHDS)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Biostatistics
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Related degree with a data science concentrationNamed option: Public Health Data ScienceA related degree (computer science, statistics…) with an officially named data science concentration, track or specialization. The awarded degree is the related field.Focus: Health / biomedical data science
School
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
New York, NY
Required credits
36 credits
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
usually two years (four semesters) (usual period; varies with background)
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Officially named Public Health Data Science track of the MS in Biostatistics.

Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Internship

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredCollege mathematics including at least a year of calculus; linear/matrix algebra highly encouraged
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RecommendedStrong GRE quantitative scores are given first preference.
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    Rolling admission · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Rolling

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — MS Full Time (Biostatistics and Epidemiology), per creditFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$2,222per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$79,992 = 36 credits × $2,222 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $79,992 (36 credits × $2,222 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — MS Full Time (Biostatistics and Epidemiology), per credit, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Estimated Program Fees
$8,391 per academic yearMandatory
Source: publichealth.columbia.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/degree-requirements/ms/public-health-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/degrees/master-science/public-health-data-science-biostatistics — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. publichealth.columbia.edu/academics/departments/biostatistics/educational-programs/degrees-biostatis — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. publichealth.columbia.edu/become-student/how-apply/deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. publichealth.columbia.edu/become-student/how-apply/financial-aid/tuition-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)

Master'sMS
Location: Syracuse, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as one year (through summer and Winterlude coursework, depending on course availability) · 31 credits
Tuition: $2,086 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: Potsdam, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: three semesters (full-time, residential) (full-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Columbia University in the City of New York. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.