Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Pennsylvania logo

University of Pennsylvania · Penn Engineering Online

Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science (MSE-DS) Online

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science

Master'sMSEData science degree Fully online

Overview

A 100 percent online, asynchronous ten-course Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science from Penn Engineering Online, with full-time or part-time study. Tuition for 2026-2027 is $3,859 per course unit plus a $168 online services fee per course unit; the Spring 2027 final application deadline is October 26, 2026.

Official program name
Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science (MSE-DS) Online
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Philadelphia, PAWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
ten courses
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Online Master of Science in Engineering in Data Science.

Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
Optional campus visits
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Practicum Optional

    Optional open elective DATO 5990 Practicum includes a one-week on-campus intensive.

    one week · Penn campus, Philadelphia

    Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Computationally focused curriculum including artificial intelligence, big data systems, data science for health, deep learning, NLP, internet and web systems and machine learning.
    Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree in computer science, or an undergraduate degree plus four for-credit CS courses, or a quantitative degree plus 2 years of relevant work experience.
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredAt least four for-credit computer science courses if the undergraduate degree is not in computer science (one of the qualifying routes).
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
Required1,000-1,500 word personal statement.
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Minimum of two letters; a third is optional.
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredOne- to two-page resume in English (maximum five).
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$95 — $95 nonrefundable application fee.
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts with the application; official transcripts if admitted.
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Optional
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredTOEFL, IELTS or Duolingo for international applicants or non-US citizens/permanent residents whose first language is not English.
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Penn Engineering Online tuition per course unitFrom the university's online tuition table$3,859per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$38,590 = 10 credits × $3,859 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $38,590 (10 credits × $3,859 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Penn Engineering Online tuition per course unit, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Online Services Fee
$168 per creditMandatory
Source: online.engineering.upenn.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Pennsylvania.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. online.engineering.upenn.edu/apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. online.engineering.upenn.edu/degrees/mse-ds-online/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. online.engineering.upenn.edu/degrees/mse-ds-online/mse-ds-academics/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. online.engineering.upenn.edu/degrees/mse-ds-online/mse-ds-admissions/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. online.engineering.upenn.edu/degrees/tuition-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. online.engineering.upenn.edu/faq-categories/mse-ds/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Pennsylvania first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Pittsburgh logo

University of Pittsburgh

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (MDS)

Master'sMDS Fully online
Location: Pittsburgh, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: 20 to 36 months to complete · 30 credits
Tuition: $15,300 entire program · All students — Approximate total tuition, regardless of residency · year not stated
Next deadline: January 6, 2027 · Spring 2027
View Program
Location: University Park, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 33 credits
Tuition: $1,048 per credit · Online students — 11 or fewer credits per semester · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $34,584 (33 credits × $1,048 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: July 1, 2027 · Fall 2027
View Program

Eastern University

Master of Science in Data Science

MS in Data Science (Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Saint Davids, PAUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: As little as 10 months; 30 credits in as few as 2.5 semesters (6 credits per 7-week session) (6 credits per 7-week session) · 30 credits
Tuition: $300 per credit · All students — Graduate Degrees and Certificates in Data Science or Data Analytics (MS & Certs) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 14, 2026 · Spring 1 2027
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Pennsylvania. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.