Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Stony Brook University logo

Stony Brook University · Department of Applied Mathematics and Statistics and Department of Computer Science

MS in Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A 36-credit master's degree with ten core courses in probability, statistics, computer science fundamentals, data management and big data, plus two electives. Students complete either a 3-credit internship or a 6-credit master's thesis, typically within 3 to 4 semesters.

Official program name
MS in Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Stony Brook, NY
Required credits
36 credits (12 courses): 10 core courses and 2 electives
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
3 to 4 semesters
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an MS in Data Science, jointly offered by Applied Mathematics and Statistics and Computer Science.

Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Format not verified
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Capstone: either 3 credits of AMS 585 Internship in Data Science or 6 credits of AMS 585 as a master's thesis with a faculty mentor.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

  • Core courses include AMS 507 Probability, AMS 572 Data Analysis, AMS 580 Statistical Learning, AMS 597 Statistical Computing, CSE 581-583 Computer Science Fundamentals, ISE 503 Data Management, AMS 560 Big Data System and AMS 598 Big Data Analysis.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • MS students may transfer to the PhD after completing eight core courses with GPA of at least 3.5 and passing the doctoral qualifying exam.
    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree in computer science, data science, statistics, mathematics, a natural science, engineering, an applied science or social science with a strong mathematics and programming background
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum overall cumulative GPA of 3.0 and at least 3.0 in pertinent courses
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredFluency in calculus and at least one programming language
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of reference from academia or industry
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredScans of all undergraduate and graduate transcripts uploaded with the application
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

TOEFL iBT
RequiredRequired for non-native English speakers without a degree from an English-language institution; TOEFL, IELTS and Duolingo accepted; minimum scores on the Graduate School site.
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Graduate, NYS resident, Fall 2026, per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$471per credit · Fall 2026Estimated tuition$16,956 = 36 credits × $471 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, non-NYS resident, Fall 2026, per credit hourFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$1,158per credit · Fall 2026Estimated tuition$41,688 = 36 credits × $1,158 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $41,688 (36 credits × $1,158 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Graduate, non-NYS resident, Fall 2026, per credit hour, Fall 2026. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Technology fee (graduate, Fall 2026, 1 credit)
$47.74 per creditMandatory
Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

  • Partial support for MS students Other fundingCompetitive

    Eligibility: MS students are not typically considered for support at admission; a small number receive partial support via departmental or campus opportunities.

    Source: stonybrook.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. stonybrook.edu/ams/academics/graduate/data-science.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. stonybrook.edu/ams/academics/graduate/grad-admissions-data-science.html — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. stonybrook.edu/sfs/tuition-fees/Graduate%20Tuition%20and%20Fee%20Per%20Credit%20Rate%20Chart.pcf.htm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)

Master'sMS
Location: Syracuse, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as one year (through summer and Winterlude coursework, depending on course availability) · 31 credits
Tuition: $2,086 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: Potsdam, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: three semesters (full-time, residential) (full-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Stony Brook University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.