Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Southern Methodist University logo

Southern Methodist University · Department of Statistics and Data Science

Online Master of Science in Data Science (DataScience@SMU)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

An online 33.5-credit Master of Science in Data Science with live weekly classes, self-paced coursework and a required on-campus immersion. Students choose a specialization in machine learning and artificial intelligence or in decision analytics.

Official program name
Online Master of Science in Data Science (DataScience@SMU)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Dallas, TXWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Machine Learning and Artificial Intelligence · Decision Analytics
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
33.5 credits: 21 core, 9 elective, 1.5 immersion and 2 capstone credits
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
typically between 20–28 months
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Spring
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Data Science, delivered online by SMU.

Source: smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.Coursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person attendance required
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Immersion Required

    At least one three- to four-day on-campus immersion; recommended in the first term.

    at least once · SMU campus

    Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Capstone presentation Not verified

    Students return to campus at the end of the program to present their capstone projects.

    SMU campus

    Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree or recognized equivalent from a regionally accredited institution
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredQuantitative skills shown by a quantitative degree, college coursework in statistics, calculus I and II or another quantitative methods course, or work experience in data analysis or data management
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredBasic understanding of a programming language; Python and R strongly recommended
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required1 letters — One letter from a professional or academic reference; up to three accepted
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredProfessional résumé or curriculum vitae
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 nonrefundable application fee; waiver available for applications submitted before the priority deadline after contacting an enrollment specialist
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredOfficial transcripts from every institution attended; unofficial transcripts accepted during the application phase
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
International applicants
RequiredApplicants with a non-U.S. four-year degree must submit a credential evaluation from an approved evaluator
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not requiredScores may be submitted optionally.
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
GMAT
Not requiredScores may be submitted optionally.
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
Required — minimum 90For applicants whose native language is not English; exemptions for US citizens/permanent residents, 5+ years living and working in the US, or a degree from an English-speaking institution.
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
IELTS Academic
Required — minimum 6.5Alternative to TOEFL for applicants whose native language is not English.
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students$1,130per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$37,855 = 33.5 credits × $1,130 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students — Estimated program tuition without fees$37,855entire program · 2026-2027Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $37,855 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Estimated program tuition without fees, 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Distance learning fee
$100 per creditMandatory
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Confirmation tuition prepayment (nonrefundable)
$300Mandatory
Source: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Southern Association of Colleges and Schools Commission on Colleges (SACSCOC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • The Master of Science in Data Science program is currently authorized to operate, exempt, or not subject to approval in the states listed on the page. Official pageSource: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • The Master of Science in Data Science program from Southern Methodist University is currently authorized to operate, exempt, or not subject to approval in the listed states and the District of Columbia. Official pageSource: datascience.smu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. datascience.smu.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. datascience.smu.edu/academics/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. datascience.smu.edu/admissions/admissions-requirements/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. datascience.smu.edu/admissions/tuition-and-financial-aid/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. datascience.smu.edu/legal/state-authorization-information/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. DAPIP — SACSCOC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  7. smu.edu/dedman/academics/departments/statistics/graduate — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Texas first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Rice University logo

Rice University

Master of Data Science

Master of Data Science (MDS) Degree, Online Program

Master'sMDS Fully online
Location: Houston, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: part-time within 2 - 3.5 years; full-time in 18-24 months with strong prerequisites; up to 5 years allowed (full-time vs. part-time) · 31 credits
Tuition: $1,700 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $52,700 (31 credits × $1,700 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: November 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
Texas Tech University logo

Texas Tech University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science (online)

Master'sMS
Location: Lubbock, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.In-person requirements not published · Full-time or part-time
Duration: as little as a year, or the online two-year option (one year on the one-year lock-step schedule) · 36 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Texas A&M University logo

Texas A&M University

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science

Master of Science in Statistical Data Science (Online / Distance)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: College Station, TXUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Study intensity not published
Duration: The average student finishes in 3 to 4 years; up to 7 years allowed. (average student) · 32 credits
Tuition: $1,880 per course · Resident (in-state) — Approximate in-state tuition and fees for 3 credit hours (excludes Distance Education Differential tuition and fees) · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Southern Methodist University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.