Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
New York University logo

New York University · Center for Urban Science and Progress (CUSP), NYU Tandon School of Engineering

Urban Data Science, M.S.

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Urban Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A two-year, 36-credit on-campus MS at NYU Tandon's Center for Urban Science and Progress with 18 core credits, 18 elective credits, optional Knowledge Tracks and a nine-month team capstone; fall entry only.

Official program name
Urban Data Science, M.S.
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Urban Data Science
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.Focus: Social science data science
School
Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
New York, NY
Required credits
36 credits
Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
two-year, 36-credit program
Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Specialized degree whose title names data science (Urban Data Science), offered by NYU Tandon's CUSP.

Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Capstone

  • A nine-month team Capstone project with industry partners, public agencies and CUSP-affiliated research labs.
    Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • Knowledge Tracks (AI, complex systems, GIS, policy analytics, smart infrastructure, sustainability, urban technology management) are curated pathways, not formal concentrations.
    Source: bulletins.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredFour-year U.S. bachelor's degree from an accredited institution or international equivalent (Tandon general requirement)
Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Prerequisite courses
RecommendedFamiliarity with single-variable calculus, basic programming (Python and R), statistics and probability, GIS and spatial analytics, and fundamental computer science principles
Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$90 — Non-refundable application fee of $90
Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    December 1 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Final deadline

    February 15 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: engineering.nyu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.

Tuition for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. bulletins.nyu.edu/graduate/engineering/programs/urban-data-science-ms/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. engineering.nyu.edu/academics/programs/urban-data-science-ms — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. engineering.nyu.edu/admissions/graduate/apply/admissions-requirements — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. engineering.nyu.edu/admissions/graduate/apply/application-deadlines — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. DAPIP — MSCHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in New York first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Syracuse University logo

Syracuse University

Master of Science in Applied Data Science

Applied Data Science Master's Degree (on campus)

Master'sMS
Location: Syracuse, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as one year (through summer and Winterlude coursework, depending on course availability) · 31 credits
Tuition: $2,086 per credit · All students · year not statedEst. total tuition $64,666 (31 credits × $2,086 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: Potsdam, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: three semesters (full-time, residential) (full-time) · 36 credits
Tuition: $1,046 per credit · All students — Interdisciplinary: Applied Data Science (MS) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $37,656 (36 credits × $1,046 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $2,822 per credit · All students — Columbia Engineering M.S. programs, per credit (2026–2027 estimated) · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $84,660 (30 credits × $2,822 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with New York University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.