Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Brown University logo

Brown University · School of Public Health, Biostatistics

Online Master of Science in Biostatistics (Sc.M.), Health Data Science track

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Biostatistics — Health Data Science track

Master'sScMDS concentration Fully online

Overview

An online Sc.M. in Biostatistics on a Health Data Science track with a nine-course requirement, completed across five consecutive semesters and ending with a problem-driven capstone project.

Official program name
Online Master of Science in Biostatistics (Sc.M.), Health Data Science track
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Biostatistics
Source: bulletin.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Related degree with a data science concentrationNamed option: Health Data Science trackA related degree (computer science, statistics…) with an officially named data science concentration, track or specialization. The awarded degree is the related field.Focus: Health / biomedical data science
School
Source: bulletin.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Providence, RIWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
9 course credits
Source: bulletin.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
5 consecutive semesters
Source: bulletin.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Sc.M. in Biostatistics with an officially named Health Data Science track listed in the University Bulletin.

Source: bulletin.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: bulletin.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.

Admission requirements: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Online Master's of Biostatistics Health Data ScienceFrom the university's online tuition table$7,500per course · 2026-2027Source: sfs.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Online students — Estimated total program tuition (9 courses)From the university's online tuition table$67,500entire program · 2026-2027Source: sfs.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $67,500 (published program total)

Comparison basis: Online students — Estimated total program tuition (9 courses), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Academic Records Fee
$100 entire programMandatory
Source: sfs.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Health Services Fee
$124 per semesterMandatory
Source: sfs.brown.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Rhode Island.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. bulletin.brown.edu/graduate/concentrations/bhds/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. sfs.brown.edu/tuition-and-fees/online-masters-tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Rhode Island first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Rhode Island logo

University of Rhode Island

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science (Fully Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Kingston, RIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · Online students — Master of Science in Data Science, tuition per credit (online programs table) · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Brown University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.