Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Rhode Island logo

University of Rhode Island · Data Science Program, College of Arts and Sciences

Master of Science in Data Science (Fully Online)

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A 30-credit, non-thesis Master of Science in Data Science offered as a fully online program, ending with a culminating experience that applies data science to a real-world problem. Tuition is $875 per credit; no GRE is required, and terms start in spring and fall.

Official program name
Master of Science in Data Science (Fully Online)
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Data Science
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Kingston, RIWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credit hours
Source: uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is an MS in Data Science.

Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
In-person requirements: not published
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

The pages we checked do not say whether any orientation, residency, exam or presentation must be attended in person. Ask the university before you apply — missing information is not “no requirement”.

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Non-thesis; culminating experience applying data science to a real-world problem (DSP577 Interdisciplinary Data Enabled Research/Capstone).
    Source: uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

  • DSP courses in statistical learning, machine learning, visualization, applied mathematics, computational statistics, databases/cloud/big data and domain applications.
    Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prerequisite courses
RequiredPrior coursework or experience in R and Python programming, calculus, linear algebra and introductory statistics, or completion of the Data Science Graduate Certificate plus interview
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal essay of 300-500 words
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$65 — Application fee $65
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredSubmission of transcripts
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    24-Nov-26 · for Spring 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    4-Aug-27 · for Fall 2027

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Online students — Master of Science in Data Science, tuition per credit (online programs table)From the university's online tuition table$875per creditEstimated tuition$26,250 = 30 credits × $875 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit)

Comparison basis: Online students — Master of Science in Data Science, tuition per credit (online programs table), academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Registration Fee
$30
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Technology Fee
$16
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcript Fee
$50
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Document Fee
$115
Source: web.uri.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

Not verified — check the university's state authorization page before applying from outside Rhode Island.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. web.uri.edu/data-science/academics/ms-data-science/admission-fees/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. web.uri.edu/data-science/academics/ms-data-science/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. web.uri.edu/online/programs/graduate/master-data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. uri.edu/programs/program/data-science-m-s/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Rhode Island first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Brown University logo

Brown University

Master of Science in Data Science: Policy, Governance & Society

Online Master's in Data Science: Policy, Governance & Society

Master'sScM Fully online
Location: Providence, RIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: as little as 16 months (four consecutive 14-week semesters, including summer) (two courses per semester) · 8 credits
Tuition: $7,500 per course · Online students — Online Master's of Data Science, Policy, Governance, & Society · 2026-2027
Next deadline: October 15, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Rhode Island. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.