
University of Wisconsin-Madison · Department of Statistics
Data Science, MS
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science
Overview
A 30-credit, face-to-face professional MS in Data Science run jointly by the Statistics and Computer Sciences departments, typically completed in 3 to 4 semesters, with an accelerated pathway for UW-Madison graduates. Tuition is a special rate of $1,600 per credit plus fees; fall admission only and no GRE required.
- Official program name
- Data Science, MS
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science in Data ScienceSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Program classification
- Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
- School
- Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- Madison, WI
- Required credits
- 30 credits minimumSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Duration
- 1.5 to two years (3 to 4 semesters) (depending on preferred pace)Source: stat.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Start terms
- FallSource: stat.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Part-time study requires permission from the program chair.
Why this program is listed
Awarded degree is an MS in Data Science (professional program of Statistics and Computer Sciences).
Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not published
Curriculum
Accelerated options
- Accelerated pathway for UW-Madison bachelor's graduates: 3 semesters or one calendar year, up to 7 transferred credits.Source: stat.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Curriculum
- Statistics core (STAT 611, 612, 613), computer sciences core, machine learning core and electives.Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
- Mathematics prerequisites
- RequiredCalculus (MATH 221, 222) and linear algebra (MATH 340 or 345) equivalentsSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Programming prerequisites
- RequiredOne programming foundation course (COMP SCI 220, 300 or 320 equivalent)Source: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredStatement of purpose, up to 2 single-spaced pages, plus a supplemental essay under 1 pageSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendationSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredResume or CVSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all previous postsecondary studiesSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- Not requiredSource: guide.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Year not printed
Application deadline
February 15 · for Fall
The university does not print a year with this date.
Source: stat.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students — MS Data Science special tuition rate | $1,600 | per creditEstimated tuition$48,000 = 30 credits × $1,600 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: stat.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
Estimated total tuition: $48,000 (30 credits × $1,600 per credit)
Comparison basis: All students — MS Data Science special tuition rate, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate
Funding
Funding classification: Funding not verified
We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.
Statistics and Computer Sciences selective scholarships ScholarshipCompetitive
Up to 25% of tuition fees, as fee deferrals
Eligibility: All admitted students are considered; limited number
Source: stat.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026Teaching, project or research assistantships (stipend only) AssistantshipCompetitive
Stipend pay only; no tuition remission
Source: stat.wisc.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Accreditation and enrollment restrictions
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.
Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)
None recorded for this program.
International applicants
Not verified for this program.
Sources and verification
- guide.wisc.edu/graduate/statistics/data-science-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- guide.wisc.edu/graduate/statistics/statistics-ms/statistics-statistics-data-science-ms/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
- stat.wisc.edu/graduate-admissions/ms-datascience/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and format family, programs in Wisconsin first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Wisconsin-Madison. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.