Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees

University of Notre Dame · Department of Applied and Computational Mathematics and Statistics (ACMS)

Online Master's in Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Science (Professional) in Data Science

Master'sMSData science degree

Overview

A 30-credit online master's degree completed part-time in 21 months, six credits per semester over five consecutive semesters, with live and asynchronous sessions, optional immersion weekends and a capstone course with corporate partners.

Official program name
Online Master's in Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Science (Professional) in Data Science
Source: graduateschool.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: graduateschool.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Notre Dame, INWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Required credits
30 credits
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
21 months (part-time enrollment, six credits per semester)
Source: graduateschool.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The page lists location as online; immersion weekends are described as something students can participate in.

Why this program is listed

The Graduate School lists Data Science: MS with the degree Master of Science (Professional).

Source: graduateschool.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Online with required attendanceCoursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.Coursework is online, with a required in-person element such as an orientation, immersion, residency, proctored exam or on-site presentation.
Source: graduateschool.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
Optional campus visits
Source: graduateschool.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Mixed (live + self-paced)
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Part-time
Source: graduateschool.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Immersion Optional

    Immersion weekends throughout the year in Silicon Valley, on campus, and online.

    throughout the year · Silicon Valley, on campus, and online

    Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Capstone

  • Capstone course in which student teams work with corporate partners on a data question.
    Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

  • Fixed course path; courses include Probability & Statistics for Data Science, Introduction to Machine Learning, Linear Models, and Databases and Data Architectures.
    Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBachelor's degree
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredAt least one university-level calculus course covering differentiation and integration, grade C or higher
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RecommendedFamiliarity with the principles of computational concepts; formal computer science training not necessary
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of intent, 250 to 500 words
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredCurrent professional resume
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$75 — $75 application fee
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for review; official transcripts after the admissions decision
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalGMAT accepted in place of the GRE.
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredFor non-native speakers of English; IELTS or Duolingo accepted.
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Class of 2029, pending approval from the Board of Trustees$61,000entire programIncludes feesSource: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
All students — Per semester, Class of 2029$12,200per semesterIncludes feesSource: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $61,000 (published program total)

Comparison basis: All students — Class of 2029, pending approval from the Board of Trustees, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Technology fee (included in tuition billed each semester)
$125 per semesterMandatory
Source: datascience.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Notre Dame is a SARA-approved institution authorized to provide online programs to individuals in all SARA participant states. Official pageSource: provost.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • The University is an approved institution by the National Council for State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA) and has authorization to provide online courses and programs to individuals in all SARA participant states. Official pageSource: provost.nd.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. datascience.nd.edu/masters/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. datascience.nd.edu/masters/apply/ — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. datascience.nd.edu/masters/curriculum/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. datascience.nd.edu/masters/financials/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. datascience.nd.edu/masters/prerequisites/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. graduateschool.nd.edu/degree-programs/data-science-ms---masters-professional/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  8. provost.nd.edu/accreditation-and-state-authorization/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Indiana first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Indiana University Bloomington logo

Indiana University Bloomington

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science - Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Bloomington, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.No required campus visits (stated) · Full-time or part-time
Duration: up to five years (maximum time to complete, part-time or full-time) · 30 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027 (January 11, 2027 start)
View Program
Purdue University logo

Purdue University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master of Science in Data Science (Online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: West Lafayette, INUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $933.33 per credit · All students — Indiana resident and non-resident/international per credit hour · year not statedEst. total tuition $27,999.90 (30 credits × $933.33 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Spring 2027
View Program
University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Notre Dame. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.