Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Michigan logo

University of Michigan · School of Information

Master of Applied Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Applied Data Science

Master'sMADSData science degree Fully online

Overview

A 38-credit online master's degree from the School of Information, delivered in one-month, one-credit courses with asynchronous coursework, milestone projects and a capstone. Students can start in fall, winter or spring/summer.

Official program name
Master of Applied Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Applied Data Science
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.Focus: Applied data science
School
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Ann Arbor, MIWhere the university is located. Study is online; this is not a residency requirement and does not decide whether you may enroll from your state.
Specializations
Artificial Intelligence (optional concentration) · Data Analytics (optional concentration)
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Required credits
38 credits, including 34 credits of required coursework and 4 credits of elective coursework
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Full time (3 courses/month): 12 months with advanced placement; 16 months with standard placement. Part time (1-2 courses/month): 24-36 months (12 months full time with advanced placement; 16 months full time with standard placement)
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall, Winter, Spring/Summer
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Applied Data Science.

Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.All coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
In-person attendance
Optional campus visits
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Asynchronous
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Study intensity
Full-time or Part-time
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

In-person requirements as published

  • Campus visit Optional

    MADS On-Campus Experience: students are invited to a two-day event on the Ann Arbor campus (October 16-17).

    Ann Arbor, MI

    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Courses are delivered in a one-month, one-credit format; students typically take 1-3 courses per month.
    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Capstone

  • Capstone (3 credits, 12 weeks) after two milestone project courses.
    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • Admitted students take a placement test; the advanced placement test (with interview) earns 4 credits toward the degree.
    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Specializations, concentrations and tracks

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredFour-year undergraduate degree or international equivalent from an accredited institution
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredBasic proficiency in Python
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
Not requiredNo essays
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Not requiredNo letters of recommendation
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Not requiredNo application fee
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts from all degree-granting institutions; official transcripts if admitted
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
Not required
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredRequired of non-native English speakers unless the degree was completed entirely in English or the applicant is a current U-M student. Recommended: 100+ overall with 25+ per section on the previous TOEFL scale.
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
IELTS Academic
RequiredAlternative to the TOEFL; recommended 7+ overall and in each section.
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Priority deadline

    October 1, 2026 · for Winter 2027

    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Passed
  • Final deadline

    November 15, 2026 · for Winter 2027

    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming
  • Application deadline

    March 15 · for Spring/Summer

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed
  • Application deadline

    July 15 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state)$1,218per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$46,284 = 38 credits × $1,218 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state)$1,624per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$61,712 = 38 credits × $1,624 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $61,712 (38 credits × $1,624 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Infrastructure maintenance fee
$185 per semesterMandatory
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
University fees
$246.89 per semesterMandatory
Source: si.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • U-M participates in SARA and is authorized to enroll online students from all U.S. states and territories. Official pageSource: ai.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • U-M participates in the State Authorization Reciprocity Agreements (SARA), which authorizes it to enroll online students from all states and territories in the United States. Official pageSource: ai.umich.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. ai.umich.edu/distance-education-disclosures/ — Official disclosure page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. si.umich.edu/about-umsi/events/mads-campus-experience-0 — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. si.umich.edu/programs/degree-programs/master-applied-data-science — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. si.umich.edu/programs/master-applied-data-science/frequently-asked-questions-master-applied-data-sci — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. si.umich.edu/programs/master-applied-data-science/how-do-i-apply-master-applied-data-science — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. si.umich.edu/programs/master-applied-data-science/master-applied-data-science-curriculum — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  8. si.umich.edu/programs/master-applied-data-science/master-applied-data-science-tuition-and-funding — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign logo

University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign

Master of Science in CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science

CyberGIS and Geospatial Data Science, MS (online)

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Champaign, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: less than two years · 32 credits
Tuition: $798 per credit · All students · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $25,536 (32 credits × $798 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire logo

University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science - Master of Science Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Eau Claire, WIUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $875 per credit · All students — Master’s of Science in Data Science (MSDS) program rate · year not statedEst. total tuition $26,250 (30 credits × $875 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

DePaul University

Master of Science in Data Science

Data Science (MS) Online

Master'sMS Fully online
Location: Chicago, ILUniversity location, not a residency requirement
Delivery: Fully onlineAll coursework is online and the university states no required in-person attendance for this program.Fully online per the university; no in-person requirement found · Full-time or part-time
Duration: 18–24 months of full-time study; part-time students typically finish in 2–3 years (full-time study) · 48 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Michigan. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.