Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
University of Massachusetts Amherst logo

University of Massachusetts Amherst · Manning College of Information and Computer Sciences

MS in Computer Science — Data Science Concentration

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Computer Science — Data Science Concentration

Master'sMSDS concentration

Overview

An optional Data Science concentration in the on-campus 30-credit MS in Computer Science, requiring four data science core courses, two data science electives and one statistics course. Students apply to the MS program and add the concentration after admission.

Official program name
MS in Computer Science — Data Science Concentration
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Computer Science
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Related degree with a data science concentrationNamed option: Data Science ConcentrationA related degree (computer science, statistics…) with an officially named data science concentration, track or specialization. The awarded degree is the related field.
School
Source: ds.cs.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Amherst, MA
Required credits
30 credits
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Two to four years, depending on course load (depends on course load each semester)
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Spring, Fall
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

CICS also offers the MS in Computer Science online and in a hybrid format; the concentrations page names on-campus students only, so the Data Science concentration is recorded as campus.

Why this program is listed

Officially named optional Data Science concentration within the on-campus MS in Computer Science.

Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Four data science core courses, two data science elective courses and one statistics course.
    Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • One application covers the standard MS and the Data Science concentration; the concentration is added after acceptance.
    Source: ds.cs.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Overall GPA of 3.0 or higher for the 30 credits.
    Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Statement / essay
RequiredPersonal statement
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Transcripts
RequiredUnofficial transcripts for the application; official transcripts if admitted
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
OptionalUMass graduates are exempt.
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    October 1, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Passed
  • Application deadline

    December 15, 2026 · for Fall 2027

    Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Total Tuition & Mandatory Fees, In-State$29,435(basis not stated by the institution)Includes feesSource: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Total Tuition & Mandatory Fees, Out-of-State/International$60,750(basis not stated by the institution)Includes feesSource: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other published fees

Graduate service fee
$1,270 per academic yearMandatory
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Graduate health fee
$908 per academic yearMandatory
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Matriculation fee (fall semester bill)
$507Mandatory
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Other
Graduate assistantships are not available to Manning CICS; MS students can seek part-time campus employment.
Source: cics.umass.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. ds.cs.umass.edu/education — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. cics.umass.edu/academics/academic-policies/graduate-programs-policies/ms-degree-requirements/ms-core — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. cics.umass.edu/academics/ms-computer-science-campus — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. cics.umass.edu/academics/ms-computer-science-campus/how-apply-ms-program-campus — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. cics.umass.edu/academics/ms-computer-science-campus/ms-campus-tuition-and-fees — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  7. cics.umass.edu/academics/ms-computer-science-campus/ms-computer-science-concentrations — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Harvard University logo

Harvard University

Master of Science in Health Data Science

Master of Science - Health Data Science

Master'sSM
Location: Cambridge, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: 2 years; 4 semesters (full-time) · 80 credits
Tuition: $58,272 per academic year · All students — Master of Science 80-credit, 2 years full-time · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program
Harvard University logo

Harvard University

Master of Science in Data Science

Master's in Data Science

Master'sSM
Location: Cambridge, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: at least 3 semesters (one and a half academic years); some students extend to a fourth semester · 48 credits
Tuition: $33,752 per term · All students — Second year (one term only) · 2026-2027
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
View Program
Location: Worcester, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition, per credit · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with University of Massachusetts Amherst. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.