
Michigan State University · Departments of CMSE, CSE and Statistics and Probability
Master of Science in Data Science (MSDS)
Awarded degree: Master of Science in Data Science
Overview
A 30-credit professional MS in Data Science run jointly by the departments of Computational Mathematics, Science, and Engineering, Computer Science and Engineering, and Statistics and Probability. It has 18 required credits, 9 elective credits and a 3-credit capstone project, and charges a flat program fee for all students.
- Official program name
- Master of Science in Data Science (MSDS)
- Awarded degree
- Master of Science in Data ScienceSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Degree level
- Master's
- Program classification
- Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
- School
- Source: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Location
- East Lansing, MI
- Required credits
- 30 credits: 18 required, 9 elective, 3-credit capstoneSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Duration
- Not verified
- Start terms
- FallSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Teaching language
- English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed
Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Data Science.
Source: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules
Format and attendance
- Academic delivery
- Format not verified
- Class schedule
- Not verified
- Study intensity
- Not published
Curriculum
Capstone
- 3-credit capstone: an applied, industrial or governmental data science project.Source: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Admissions
- Prerequisite courses
- RequiredSome calculus and programming background; probability and statistics strongly recommendedSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Statement / essay
- RequiredTwo-page letter of motivationSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Recommendation letters
- Required3 letters — At least three letters of recommendationSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Résumé / CV
- RequiredDetailed CV/resumeSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Interview
- OptionalOptional phone/Skype/Zoom interview at the committee's discretionSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Transcripts
- RequiredOfficial transcripts sent by the granting institutionsSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- Other requirement
- RequiredSurvey of technical background after applyingSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Tests
- GRE General Test
- OptionalNot required but can be submitted.Source: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
- TOEFL iBT
- RequiredRequired if English is not the first language and the applicant did not attend a university in an English-speaking country; IELTS or equivalent also accepted.Source: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.
Start dates and deadlines
- Passed
- Passed
Tuition and fees
| Category | Amount | Basis and year |
|---|---|---|
| All students | $39,000 | entire programSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
| All students — Per semester (1-9 credits) | $9,750 | per semesterSource: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026 |
Estimated total tuition: $39,000 (published program total)
Comparison basis: All students, academic year not stated. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate
Funding
Funding classification: Funding not verified
We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.
Teaching Assistant / Graduate Assistant positions AssistantshipCompetitive
Eligibility: MSDS students may apply; not guaranteed and competitive.
Source: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Accreditation and enrollment restrictions
Institutional accreditation
- Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026
Programmatic accreditation
No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.
Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)
None recorded for this program.
International applicants
- STEM designated and eligible for OPT.Source: msds.msu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Sources and verification
- msds.msu.edu/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- msds.msu.edu/courses.aspx — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
- msds.msu.edu/how-to-apply.aspx — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
- msds.msu.edu/prospective-students.aspx — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- msds.msu.edu/prospective-students/untitled.aspx — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
- msds.msu.edu/tuition.aspx — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
- DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile
Similar programs at other schools
Same degree level and format family, programs in Michigan first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.
Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Michigan State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.