Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Lewis University logo

Lewis University · Department of Engineering, Computing and Mathematical Sciences

Data Science, Doctor of Engineering (D.Eng.)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Engineering in Data Science

Professional doctorateDEngData science degreeFunding not verified

Overview

A Doctor of Engineering in Data Science built on coursework and a six-course applied doctoral project defended before a committee; 84-93 credit hours without a prior master's or 54 with a related master's. It can be completed on-ground or online.

Official program name
Data Science, Doctor of Engineering (D.Eng.)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Engineering in Data Science
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
PhD — professional doctorate
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Romeoville, IL
Required credits
54-93 credit hours (84-93 without a prior master's; 54 with a master's in data science or a closely related field)
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)

The catalog states the program can be completed both on-ground and online; no separate online page, tuition or attendance rules were found.

Why this program is listed

Catalog program Data Science / Doctor of Engineering, an applied-project doctorate (not a PhD).

Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

In-person requirements as published

  • Dissertation defense Required

    Oral presentation defending the doctoral project before the project committee; location not stated.

    Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Project

  • Applied doctoral project over six courses: proposal, implementation and a final presentation defended before the project committee.
    Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • Qualifying examination by the end of the second academic year, or an approved professional certification in lieu of it.
    Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredBaccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited institution; a master's in data science or a related field waives foundation and core courses.
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Minimum GPA
RequiredMinimum 3 — Minimum undergraduate GPA of 3.0 on a 4.0 scale.
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredUndergraduate coursework in Calculus.
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredTwo-page statement of purpose.
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required2 letters — Two letters of recommendation.
Source: catalog.lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.

Application deadlines: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Doctorate, Engineering Data Science (graduate and doctorate programs, Fall 2026 / Spring 2027)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$875per credit · 2026-2027Estimated tuition$47,250 = 54 credits × $875 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $47,250 (54 credits × $875 per credit)

Comparison basis: All students — Doctorate, Engineering Data Science (graduate and doctorate programs, Fall 2026 / Spring 2027), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Other published fees

Student Fee - Accelerated Undergraduate and Graduate Students, per Fall/Spring semester
$175 per semesterMandatory
Source: lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

  • Lewis University is authorized to operate as a postsecondary educational institution by the Illinois Board of Higher Education Official pageSource: lewisu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. catalog.lewisu.edu/graduate/aviation-science-technology/engineering-computing-mathematical-sciences/ — Official catalog / bulletin, verified October 11, 2026
  2. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  3. lewisu.edu/academics/data-science/index.htm — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. lewisu.edu/welcome/offices/business/bursar/tuitionrates.htm — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Illinois first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Northwestern University logo

Northwestern University

Doctor of Philosophy in Statistics and Data Science

PhD in Statistics and Data Science

PhDJoint degreeFunding not verified
Location: Evanston, IL
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: December 1, 2026 · Fall 2027
Stipend: Published stipend $47,748 (annual)
View Program
Middle Tennessee State University logo

Middle Tennessee State University

Doctor of Philosophy in Computational and Data Science

Computational and Data Science, Ph.D.

PhDJoint degreeCompetitive full funding
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $623 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate in-state, hours 1-10, Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Stipend: Published stipend $20,100
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Lewis University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.