Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Harvard University logo

Harvard University · Department of Biostatistics

Master of Science - Health Data Science

Awarded degree: Master of Science in Health Data Science

Master'sSMData science degree

Overview

An 80-credit, full-time, on-campus SM in Health Data Science in the Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, taking two years (four semesters) with a fall start. Required courses cover statistical inference, data science, big data computing, statistical learning and production data science.

Official program name
Master of Science - Health Data Science
Awarded degree
Master of Science in Health Data Science
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
Master's
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.Focus: Health / biomedical data science
School
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Cambridge, MA
Required credits
80 credits
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
2 years; 4 semesters (full-time)
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Start terms
Fall
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a Master of Science in Health Data Science.

Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Full-time
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Curriculum

Curriculum

  • Required courses BST 222, BST 260, BST 261, BST 262, BST 263, BST 264, plus five credits in computer science and 35 elective credits.
    Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • Program length changed from 60 credits (3 semesters) to 80 credits (4 semesters).
    Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RequiredUndergraduate degree in mathematical sciences or allied fields or computer science
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredCalculus through multivariable integration and one semester of linear algebra or matrix methods
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredScripting/programming and a statistical computing language such as R or Python
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Work experience
RecommendedResearch or work experience beneficial but not required
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of Purpose and Objectives
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
RequiredLetters of Recommendation
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume/CV
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

GRE General Test
RequiredStandardized test scores listed as GRE, MCAT, GMAT, DAT, or LSAT
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
TOEFL iBT
RequiredTOEFL, IELTS, or Duolingo if applicable
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • Application deadline

    December 1 · for Fall

    The university does not print a year with this date.

    Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Year not printed

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
All students — Master of Science 80-credit, 2 years full-timeFrom the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$58,272per academic year · 2026-2027Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other published fees

Student Health Insurance Plan
$4,954 per academic year
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Student Health Fee
$1,944 per academic year
Source: hsph.harvard.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Funding not verified

We have not verified an official funding policy for this program. That does not mean funding is unavailable.

Scholarships, fellowships or assistantships for this program: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • New England Commission of Higher Education (NECHE) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. hsph.harvard.edu/program/sm-health-data-science/ — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  2. hsph.harvard.edu/tuition-and-financial-aid/tuition-fees-and-annual-cost-of-attendance/ — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. DAPIP — NECHE institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Massachusetts first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Location: Worcester, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 30 credits
Tuition: $1,775 per credit · All students — Graduate Tuition, per credit · 2026-2027Est. total tuition $53,250 (30 credits × $1,775 per credit; fees excluded)
Next deadline: Rolling admission (as published)
View Program
Boston University logo

Boston University

Master of Science in Data Science

MS in Data Science (Residential)

Master'sMS
Location: Boston, MA
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Full-time or part-time
Duration: As little as 9 months full-time; 16 months with the internship or thesis option (full-time) · 32 credits
Tuition: $2,282 per credit · All students — Part-time (2-11 credits) per-credit rate · year not stated
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Harvard University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.