Skip to content
Data ScienceDegrees
Bowling Green State University logo

Bowling Green State University · Department of Computer Science

Doctorate Data Science (Ph.D.)

Awarded degree: Doctor of Philosophy in Data Science

PhDData science degreePartial funding

Overview

A 60-credit research doctorate with core coursework, electives, an applied experience, a preliminary examination and at least 16 credits of dissertation research. Faculty come from the College of Arts and Sciences and the Schmidthorst College of Business; applicants without enough background may be asked to complete the MS in Data Science first.

Official program name
Doctorate Data Science (Ph.D.)
Awarded degree
Doctor of Philosophy in Data Science
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Degree level
PhD — research doctorate
Program classification
Dedicated data science degreeThe awarded degree or official program title is data science itself.
School
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Location
Bowling Green, OH
Required credits
60 credits
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Duration
Not verified
Teaching language
English (not separately stated)
Why this program is listed

Awarded degree is a PhD in Data Science.

Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

We list data science bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees — dedicated, joint, and (separately labelled) related degrees with an officially named data science concentration. Eligibility rules

Format and attendance

Delivery, required in-person attendance, class schedule and study intensity are shown separately, each only as the university states it. “Fully online” appears only when official wording supports it.
Academic delivery
On campusClasses meet in person on campus.Classes meet in person on campus.
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Class schedule
Not verified
Study intensity
Not published

Curriculum

Dissertation

  • Minimum of 16 hours of dissertation research; preliminary examination and dissertation defense.
    Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Other

  • Applied experience is part of the curriculum.
    Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Admissions

Required, optional, waived and not-required items are shown exactly as the university states them. Anything not listed is not verified — not “not required”.
Prior degree
RecommendedIdeally a master's in mathematics, statistics, computer science, data science or a closely related field; others may be asked to complete the MS first
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Mathematics prerequisites
RequiredDifferential, integral and multivariate calculus, linear algebra and senior-level probability and statistics
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Programming prerequisites
RequiredProgramming skills (C, C++, Java, Python), data structures and algorithms
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Statement / essay
RequiredStatement of purpose
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Recommendation letters
Required3 letters — Three letters of recommendation, resume and statement of purpose
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Résumé / CV
RequiredResume
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Application fee
Required$45 — Graduate application fee: $45 domestic, $75 international (university-wide)
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Tests

Entrance and English-language test policy: not verified. We publish this only when the institution states it on an official page.

We do not publish acceptance rates or estimate admission chances.

Start dates and deadlines

Dates are shown with the term the university printed. A past date is marked passed and is never carried into a new cycle.
  • International applicantsInternational applicants

    November 6, 2026 · for Spring 2027

    Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
    Upcoming

Tuition and fees

Each amount keeps its student category, academic year and basis. Per-credit, per-term and whole-program figures are not comparable with each other, and tuition is not the full cost of attendance.
CategoryAmountBasis and year
Resident (in-state) — Main Campus Graduate, Ohio resident, per credit hour (instructional fee $500.32 + general fee $73.17)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$573.49per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$34,409.40 = 60 credits × $573.49 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
Nonresident (out-of-state) — Main Campus Graduate, non-resident, per credit hour (including $332.85 non-resident fee)From the university-wide rate table covering online students at this level$906.34per credit · 2026-2027Includes feesEstimated tuition$54,380.40 = 60 credits × $906.34 per credit. Excludes mandatory fees, books, travel for any required in-person sessions, transfer credit reductions and rate changes. Not the full cost of attendance.Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Estimated total tuition: $54,380.40 (60 credits × $906.34 per credit)

Comparison basis: Nonresident (out-of-state) — Main Campus Graduate, non-resident, per credit hour (including $332.85 non-resident fee), 2026-2027. Excludes mandatory fees, books, living costs and any rate changes during the program. How we calculate

Funding

Funding policy and awards exactly as the university publishes them. Available assistantships do not establish guaranteed funding; loans must be repaid and are not scholarships. Understanding funding

Funding classification: Partial funding

Some scholarships, assistantships or awards exist for some students; full funding is not stated.

Funding guarantee
Graduate assistantships with scholarships and stipend are granted on a competitive basis.
Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026
  • Graduate assistantship AssistantshipCompetitive

    Scholarship and stipend (amount not published)

    Eligibility: Doctoral students in data science; competitive.

    Source: bgsu.edu · verified October 11, 2026

Accreditation and enrollment restrictions

Two separate questions: is the university institutionally accredited, and does it publish restrictions on who can enroll (for online programs, usually by state of residence)?

Institutional accreditation

  • Higher Learning Commission (HLC) — accreditedSource: ope.ed.gov · verified October 10, 2026

Programmatic accreditation

No programmatic accreditation verified for this program. Institutional accreditation does not imply it.

Published enrollment restrictions (state authorization)

None recorded for this program.

International applicants

Not verified for this program.

Sources and verification

Every fact on this page comes from the official pages below. Last verified October 11, 2026.
  1. DAPIP — HLC institutional accreditation record (data files downloaded 2026-10-10) — U.S. Department of Education dataset (IPEDS / DAPIP), verified October 10, 2026
  2. bgsu.edu/academics/computational-data-science.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  3. bgsu.edu/academics/graduate/data-science-phd.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  4. bgsu.edu/admissions/graduate/graduate-application-instructions/gradadmissionsdeadlines.html — Official admissions page, verified October 11, 2026
  5. bgsu.edu/arts-and-sciences/computer-science/graduate.html — Official program page, verified October 11, 2026
  6. bgsu.edu/bursar/Tuition_and_Fees_2026-2027.html — Official tuition and fees page, verified October 11, 2026

Something out of date? Request a correction · Represent this school? Claim the profile

Similar programs at other schools

Same degree level and format family, programs in Ohio first. Listed for discovery, not ranked.

Middle Tennessee State University logo

Middle Tennessee State University

Doctor of Philosophy in Computational and Data Science

Computational and Data Science, Ph.D.

PhDJoint degreeCompetitive full funding
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published
Tuition: $623 per credit · Resident (in-state) — Graduate in-state, hours 1-10, Fall 2026 or Spring 2027 · 2026-2027
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
Stipend: Published stipend $20,100
View Program
New York University logo

New York University

Doctor of Philosophy in Data Science

Data Science (PhD)

PhDFunding not verified
Location: New York, NY
Delivery: On campusClasses meet in person on campus.On-campus classes · Study intensity not published
Duration: Length not published · 72 credits
Tuition: Tuition not published / not verified
Next deadline: No upcoming verified deadline
View Program

Data Science Degrees is independent and not affiliated with Bowling Green State University. Information is collected from official pages and can change; confirm requirements, costs and deadlines with the university.